Muddobbers National Enduro Results 2012

October 15, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Muddobbers National Enduro podium with Steward Baylor Jr.  center  in first  Nick Fahringer  right  in second and Mike Lafferty  left  in third.
Muddobbers National Enduro podium with Steward Baylor Jr. (center) in first, Nick Fahringer (right) in second and Mike Lafferty (left) in third.

Steward Baylor Jr. of KTM secured the 2012 AMA Rekluse National Enduro title after earning his sixth win of the season at the Muddobbers National Enduro in Matthews, Indiana. Baylor was followed by Husaberg riders Nick Fahringer and Mike Lafferty in second and third respectively.

“It feels great to have all of the hard work finally pay off,” said Baylor. “It has been a tough season and I am very happy to win my first championship and very thankful to my family and my team for all of their hard work to help get me here.”

Baylor had a comfortable points lead coming into the round and only needed to finish ahead of Lafferty to take the title. Baylor was second-fastest through the first test section, bested by fellow KTM rider Jesse Groemm by four seconds, but the points leader bounced back in the following tests, taking the top spot through the following three sections. Baylor dropped back slightly as Fahringer picked-up steam, the Husaberg rider claiming the fastest times through the final two test sections. Fahringer struggled earlier on though, coming in seventh in the third test, and he was unable to bridge the gap created by the KTM rider. Baylor finished 39 seconds ahead of Fahringer at the end and almost a minute ahead of Lafferty.

Nick Fahringer finished second in the Muddobbers National Enduro.
Nick Fahringer struggled with slick conditions early on but continued to push and finished second at Muddobbers.

“I wish I could have found my rhythm a bit earlier in the race,” commented Fahringer. “The track conditions were very slick in the beginning of the race and it started to dry up a bit at the end and allowed my Husaberg to get really good traction in the last few sections. From that point on everything clicked and I was able to climb back up to a decent result.”

“I tried my best today and just came up a little short,” said Lafferty. “I actually felt really strong in a lot of the tests but Nick (Fahringer) and Stu (Baylor) rode really well and I can’t take that away from them. Stu was a tough competitor all year and I want to congratulate him on a great season and his first championship.”

GNCC regular Rory Mead took fourth-place in the second national enduro race of his career and he was followed by Groemm in fifth. After his first-place time in test one, Groemm placed second in the following two sections but hit a rough patch in the fourth test and came in 10th. Husaberg rider Shane Hufford Jr. finished the day in sixth and KTM’s Grant Baylor, Steward’s younger brother, took seventh.

Lafferty holds to second overall in the points tally behind Baylor and will finish the season in the runner-up position as he has a 75 point advantage over KTM’s Russell Bobbitt in third. Fahringer will finish fourth in points and Groemm rounds out the top five.

The final round of the 2012 AMA Rekluse National Enduro Series is set for November 4, 2012 in Stanton, Alabama.

Steward Baylor Jr. on his way to victory at the Muddobbers National Enduro.
Steward Baylor Jr. on his way to victory at the 2012 Muddobbers National Enduro in Matthews, Indiana.

2012 Muddobbers National Enduro Results:
1. Steward Baylor Jr. (KTM)
2. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
3. Mike Lafferty (Husaberg)
4. Rory Mead (KTM)
5. Jesse Groemm (KTM)
6. Shane Hufford Jr. (Husaberg)
7. Grant Baylor (KTM)
8. Zach Klamfoth (KTM)
9. Hunter Williams (KTM)
10. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)
11. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
12. Geoff Braico (KTM)
13. Nick Davis (Husqvarna)
14. Justin Sode (Beta)
15. Ian Blythe (KTM)

2012 National Enduro Championship Points:
1. Steward Baylor Jr., 242
2. Mike Lafferty, 207
3. Russell Bobbitt, 167
4. Nick Fahringer, 146
5. Jesse Groemm, 130
6. Brad Bakken, 108
7. Cory Buttrick, 91
8. Andrew DeLong, 90
9. Grant Baylor, 83
10. Shane Hufford Jr., 79

Facebook comments