National Hare and Hound Series Competition

October 10, 2012
Courtesy of NHHA
David Pearson on his THR Motorsports Kawasaki KX450F is has just 13 points separating him from Kurt Caselli going into the Lucerne Valley CA.
David Pearson on his THR Motorsports Kawasaki KX450F has just 13 points separating him from Kurt Caselli.

This Sunday, October 14th, Round 9 of the AMA/Kenda National Hare & Hound Championship Series will take place in Johnson Valley OHV with the staging area five miles north of the Rock Pile on Bessemer Mine Rd – Lucerne Valley, CA.

Round 9, hosted by District 37’s SO CAL MC, this club has been working hard for almost a year to bring you 120 miles of fun, fun, fun! The course will consist of three 40 mile loops, bringing riders through the main pit twice.

Some champions have already been crowned and as we head into the last 2 rounds, it couldn’t be any closer between the top two Pro riders for the 2012 Championship Title!

With only 13 points separating current leader, THR Motorsports David Pearson and the 2011 Champ, FMF/KTM’s Kurt Caselli, it will definitely be a nose-to-nose battle at these last two events. Caselli would basically need to win both rounds to wrap up the Championship for 2012. These two riders have given it their all this season to clinch the title.

Sitting in the 3rd through 5th overall spots are all members of the Purvines Racing Team – Justin Morrow in 3rd Overall, Nick Burson in 4th Overall, and Jacob Argubright in 5th Overall. These guys have ridden their best during this season with Morrow getting a 2nd Overall at Round 5, Burson placing 4th Overall twice and Argubright having an overall win at Round 5!

The points scale is like this:
30 points for a win,
25 for 2nd
21 for 3rd
18 for 4th
16 for 5th
All national class results and overall results can be found on the AMA website here:  

2012 Champs

Nicole Bradford is the Overall Womens Champion for 2012.
Nicole Bradford is the Overall Women’s Champion for 2012.

Congratulations to the Overall Women’s Champion for 2012, Stillwell Performance’s Nicole Bradford! This was Bradford’s first full year competing in the series and she immediately proved her technical skills in the rocks and tough terrain and throughout the whole season, bringing her win after win. Huge congrats to you, Nicole.

The 2011 Vet A Champion, Purvines Racing’s Dan Capparelli, has proven once again to be the fastest 30+ Vet A rider as he has once again wrapped up his 2012 Championship Title!

In the 30+ Vet B class, Santa Barbara’s Ken Strebel, looks to have also wrapped up his Championship Title for 2012, overtaking the 2011 Champ, Dennis Maurer. This would be Strebel’s second year racing the NHHA series and after breaking his back in 2011, he would find it necessary to redeem himself in 2012, and racing with a vengeance!

Mark Weirich from Bozeman, Montana, has also wrapped up his Championship for 2012 in the Senior 40+ A Class.

In the Senior 40+ B Class out of Paso Robles, Ca, Darrell Daane looks to have locked in the Championship for his class.

In the Open B Class, James Rhodes from Nibley, Utah, has also won the Championship for his class.

Blais Racing Services rider, Brendan Crow, has wrapped up the 2012 Championship in the 250B Class! Brendan will move up to the A class for 2013.

200A Class rider, the 2011 class champ, Cordis Brooks, has once again wrapped up another Championship for 2012! He will be moving to the 250A Class for 2013. Trevor Hoffman and Sam Fuller are separated by only 1 point, battling for 2nd place.

Maverick Shuey of Pinon Hills, Ca, has the 200C Class Championship wrapped up.

Megan Blackburn on her Offroad Support  VurbOffroad Kawasaki will hopefully be back in 2013 to defend her Womens C Class Championship title.
Megan Blackburn on her Offroad Support/ VurbOffroad Kawasaki will hopefully be back in 2013 to defend her Women’s C Class Championship title.

Vurboffroad’s Megan Blackburn, has wrapped up the Women’s C Class Championship title in her first full year of racing this series. We hope to have her back next year to defend her title!

The 2011 ATV A Champ, Dirt First’ rider, Andy Lagzdins, looks to have his second Championship wrapped up for 2012 over second place rider, Bill Markel.

In the ATV B Class, Jim Evans from Norco, Ca, has wrapped up the 2012 Championship for his class.

Peggy Ogaz from Highland Ca, has the ATV C Class Championship clinched for 2012.

Good Battles

In the Open A Class, TJ Hannifin, Brady Elton, and Michael Slawson are all within 10 points of each other going into Round 9.
Fasst Co’s Skyler Howes and Purvines Racing’s Axel Pearson are heading into Round 9 with only 4 points separating them (counting the two throw-aways). It will come down to the last 2 rounds to see who will be the 250A Champ for 2012! There is a tie for 3rd Place right now with Purvines Racing’s Ryan Smith and Blais Racing’s Kevin DeJongh.
These three 50+ Super Senior A riders, all from District 37, are separated only by a total of 20 points. For the lead, Mike Korenwinder and Mike Whitcomb are only 4 points apart with John Kearney 16 points behind 2nd place Whitcomb.

Blais Racing Services riders, Ben Meza and teammate Sam Bangert, only have 12 points separating them in the 200B class for 2012. These last two rounds will be exciting.

Jared Knowles, Logan Davis, and Sage Vincent are all within 8 points of each other, all battling for the #1 spot in their 250C class.

Sam Bangert wants to claim the 200B Class over teammate Ben Meza as they head into round nine.
Sam Bangert wants to claim the 200B Class over teammate Ben Meza.

Blais Racing Services pit dad, Dean Crow, is currently leading the Senior 40+ C Class by 8 points over Darran Falcone from Joshua Tree, Ca.

Jon Johnson from Lompoc, Ca, currently leads James Gibson from Eagle, Idaho for the Super Senior 50+ B Class. They are only separated by 8 points currently.

Kerry Chartier from Layton, Utah currently leads the Masters 60+ Class by 31 points for the Championship over Terry Flynn from Moab, Utah who currently sits in 2nd place.

A huge congrats to ALL the racers in this 2012 season! It’s coming down to the wire with more Champions to be crowned at Rounds 9 and 10, both taking place in the Johnson Valley OHV area – Lucerne Valley, Ca.

We would once again like to thank all of our awesome sponsors for the 2012 season, with many of them returning for 2013! We have certificates from ALL of our series sponsors and we’d like to thank them all at this time for supporting this series and our off-road racers:

KENDA, FMF, Purvines Racing, GPR Stabilizers, Bullet Proof Designs, TBT Suspension, Alpinestars, BRP, Dirt Tricks, Fasst Co, Fastway/PMB, FPS Racing (Fluidyne), IMS, Leatt, No Toil, RB Components, Rekluse, Rocky Mountain ATV/MC, Works Connection and ZLT! Also, contingencies from KTM, Kawasaki and Honda.

FASST CO will be giving away 1 free pair of their supreme FLEXX BARS, worth $350.00.

IMS will be giving away 1 free fuel tank to a lucky racer, valued at $275.00.

VP FUELS will be giving away two 5-gallon drums of race fuel at Round 9, each worth $80 each. One of the winners could be you!
BRP Triple Clamp certificates and BRP Chain Guide certificates will be awarded to random class winners!

ROCKY MOUNTAIN ATV/MC will reward EACH racer with a $10.00 gift card just for signing up. (mailed out post-race)

Kid’s Event
Saturday October 13th at 1:00pm. Come on out and cheer on the kiddos.
Goodies for the kids!

Round 9 Pre Entry Here: 

So Cal Round 9 Race Flyer

Check out your NHHA Round 8 Event Photos Here: Floyds Race Photos

Find us on Facebook: National Hare & Hound Association

Website: National Hare and Hound Association

Facebook comments