SportBike New Orleans Race 1 Results 2012

October 6, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Cameron Beaubier came through with the Race 1 win in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike at New Orleans.
Cameron Beaubier earned his seventh Daytona SportBike race win in Race 1 at New Orleans Motorsports Park.

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier scored his seventh AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race win in Race 1 at New Orleans Motorsports Park. M4 Suzuki’s Dane Westby finished in second and Road Race Factory’s JD Beach rounded out the podium.

The contest was only into the third lap when Meen Motorsports’ Bobby Fong and Beach’s teammate Jake Gagne crashed out in dramatic fashion while running in second and third respectively.Fong got too close to Gagne’s rear tire and clipped the bike in Turn 1. Luckily both riders were ok, but the red flag forced riders to the pits for about 15 minutes before the contest could pick up again.

Cardenas claimed the front after the race was back in action and had Beach and Kneedraggers.coms Tommy Aquino close behind. Westby and Beaubier were fourth and fifth and quickly pushed past Beach and Aquino into podium position. Beaubier pulled away as he gained ground on Cardenas and soon the two riders were locked in a head-to-head battle for the lead. The Yamaha ace set his best time of the race on Lap 9 and five laps later he moved past the Colombian rider to the front. Cardenas remained close behind until the final laps when crashed out of the competition. Beaubier had a comfortable lead at that point and cruised to victory over 4 seconds ahead of Westby.

“I was trying to make my way up towards the front,” said Beaubier. “I put my head down and managed to catch up to Cardenas. He made a mistake and crashed. It’s not the way I wanted to win but my team gave me a great bike.”

Aquino finished the day in fourth, with Ducshop Racing’s Jake Zemke in fifth. Team Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo struggled from outside the top-10 early on to finish in sixth and was followed by Aquino’s teammate David Gaviria in seventh and Riders Discount Vesrah Suzuki’s Cory West in eighth.

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike New Orleans Race 1 Results 2012:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Dane Westby (Suzuki)
3. JD Beach (Yamaha)
4. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha)
5. Jake Zemke (Ducati)
6. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
7. David Gaviria (Yamaha)
8. Cory West (Suzuki)
9. Austin Dehaven (Yamaha)
10. Tommy Hayden (Yamaha)
11. Kris Turner (Triumph)
12. Ben Young (Yamaha)
13. Shane Narbonne (Yamaha)
14. Joey Pascarella (Suzuki)
15. Danny Kelsey (Yamaha)