XR1200 New Orleans Results 2012

October 7, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Michael Barnes took third in XR1200.
Michael Barnes took the XR1200 win in New Orleans and secured the 2012 XR1200 championship title.

KRL Group/Spyke’s Harley-Davidson rider Michael Barnes came through on top in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 race at New Orleans Motorsports Park. It was the first AMA Pro Racing class championship in Barnes’ 25-year motorcycle road racing career. Teterboro Rams LLC’s Shane Narbonne claimed second-place with Suburban Harley-Davidson’s Benjamin Carlson following close behind in third.

Barnes and Bartel’s Harley-Davidson’s Tyler O’Hara were neck-and-neck going into the final laps, the championship contenders battling for the $25,000 first place bonus. The duo diced it out, O’Hara making a late pass for the front before Barnes took it back on Turn 1 on the white flag lap. The two entered the final straight side-by-side, and in an apparent act of desperation, O’Hara reached over and grabbed Barnes’ right arm, pulling his hand off the throttle as O’Hara sprinted across the finish line first. AMA Pro Racing officials penalized O’Hara, repositioning him to last place in the finishing order.

Earlier in the contest, it was Carlson who commanded the front but a mid-race red flag sent riders to the pits and once back on track it was O’Hara and Barnes contending for the win.

Rossiter’s Harley-Davidson of Sarasota’s Michael Corbino finished the race in fourth with Ruthless Racing’s David Estok in fifth. O’Hara’s teammate Josh Chisum took sixth with MOB Racing’s Eric Haugo trailing in seventh.

The win secures Barnes as the 2012 AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 series champion, finishing 18 points ahead of Carlson in second. O’Hara took third while Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman finished the season in fourth.

AMA Pro XR1200 New Orleans Results 2012:
1. Michael Barnes
2. Shane Narbonne
3. Benjamin Carlson
4. Michael Corbino
5. David Estok
6. Josh Chisum
7. Eric Haugo
8. Brice Cooper
9. Paul James
10. Chris Hamilton
11. Tyler O’Hara
12. Travis Wyman
13. Ray Delaney
14. Darren James
15. Jake Holden

XR1200 Championship Points 2012:
1. Michael Barnes, 1121
2. Benjamin Carlson, 1103
3. Tyler O’Hara, 1098
4. Michael Corbino, 1082
5. Travis Wyman, 1071
6. David Estok, 1065
7. Kyle Wyman, 1062
8. Josh Chisum, 1057
9. Gerry Signorelli, 1018
10. Darren James, 1000

Facebook comments