EnduroCross Las Vegas Finale Results 2012

November 19, 2012
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Taddy Blazusiak won both main events in the finale in Las Vegas.
Taddy Blazusiak ended his commanding season with wins in both main events at the 2012 EnduroCross finale in Vegas.

Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak could not be touched in the final showdown of the 2012 AMA EnduroCross Championship at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. Blazusiak won both main events and secured his fourth consecutive EnduroCross title in the face of heavy pressure from Beta’s Cody Webb, who challenged for the front in both contests but ended in second-place both times. Rounding out the podium in the first main was Blazusiak’s KTM teammate Mike Brown while Husqvarna rider Kyle Redmond grabbed the spot in the second main.

Blazusiak was the fastest rider during the afternoon hot laps, giving him the first gate choice in his heat. During the heat race, the KTM ace took the front early and was relentless, leading every lap to secure a place in the main.

In ME1 Blazusiak and Brown went head-to-head through the opening laps, until Brown hit a snag and dropped to third. Soon after Brown’s slide down the ranks Blazusiak ran into trouble in the rocks, giving Webb a line to the front. The two battled until the final laps when Blazusiak gained an advantage he was able to hold to the checkers, securing the 2012 title in the process.

Taddy Blazusiak celebrates his fourth consecutive GEICO EnduroCross title.
Blazusiak and his KTM crew celebrate his fourth consecutive GEICO EnduroCross title win.

In ME2 Blazusiak immediately took the front but had traction problems once again in the rocks, giving Webb another chance to gain ground. The Beta rider struggled to find a line to the front though and went down late in the contest but remounted quickly and held to second. Behind the two front-runners Redmond and Honda rider Geoff Aaron remained in close battle to the finish, with Redmond gaining a slight advantage for the final spot on the rostrum.

“It was great to have Taddy return to defend his championship this year. We are happy he was able to clinch another championship. He and the team have worked very hard for this championship and it is a great ending to the year to take the number one plate again,” said Team Manager Antti Kallonen.

Blazusiak ends with a 70 point lead over Webb, who finished second overall. Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert held to third, with Brown trailing by just three in fourth.

In Women’s action, Factory FMF/KTM’s Maria Forseberg claimed the 2012 AMA Women’s EnduroCross Championship title, pushing from as far back as fifth to claim the lead and the win. Louise Forsley took second in the race and was followed by Rachel Gutish in third.

“It feels so great to get this title,” said Forseberg. “I have had an amazing season. To win an X-Games gold medal, go undefeated in the GNCC series and then come out and win this championship has just been amazing. I couldn’t do it without the support of my team, my family and my friends. I want to send a huge thank you out to everyone who helped me this year. It has truly been an incredible year.”

Maria Forsberg clinched the 2012 Womens EnduroCross title after taking the win in the final round of the series.
Maria Forsberg clinched the 2012 Women’s EnduroCross title after taking the win in the final round of the series.

EnduroCross Las Vegas Main Event 1 Results 2012:
1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2. Cody Webb (Beta)
3. Mike Brown (KTM)
4. Geoff Aaron (Honda)
5. Justin Soule (Kawasaki)
6. Colton Haaker (Kawasaki)
7. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)
8. Kyle Redmond (Husqvarna)
9. Max Gerston (Beta)
10. Jamie Lanza (Honda)
11. Kevin Rookstool (Honda)
12. Taylor Robert (Kawasaki)

EnduroCross Las Vegas Main Event 2 Results 2012:
1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
2. Cody Webb (Beta)
3. Kyle Redmond (Husqvarna)
4. Geoff Aaron (Honda)
5. Mike Brown (KTM)
6. Justin Soule (Kawasaki)
7. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)
8. Taylor Robert (Kawasaki)
9. Max Gerston (Beta)
10. Kevin Rookstool (Honda)
11. Colton Haaker (Kawasaki)
12. Jamie Lanza (Honda)

EnduroCross Championship Points 2012:
1. Taddy Blazusiak, 249
2. Cody Webb, 179
3. Taylor Robert, 154
4. Mike Brown, 151
5. Cory Graffunder, 133
6. Justin Soule, 125
7. Kyle Redmond, 123
8. Colton Haaker, 123
9. Geoff Aaron, 111
10. Kevin Rookstool, 92