Anaheim 1 250 Supercross Results 2013

January 5, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Eli Tomac was nearly uncatchable in the 250SX main at Anaheim.
Eli Tomac was nearly uncatchable in the 250SX West main at Anaheim in the first round of the 2013 season.

The 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season officially got underway with the 250SX West class facing off in Angel Stadium. Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac had little trouble holding first-place to the checkers, beating out Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen by over six seconds. Troy Lee Designs Honda rider Cole Seely rounded out the top three.

“I had a tough Heat Race, and that was kind of a wake-up call for me,” said Tomac. “This is how I wanted to start the season. I did a few off-season races, like the Monster Energy Cup, and that kept me in shape.”

Off the start a sizeable pile-up left many riders well outside the top-10, including Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos and his teammate Blake Baggett. Davalos retired from competition following the set-back, and Baggett battled back from last place to finish in 14th, a disappointing start to the season for the 2012 AMA Motocross champ.

“Tonight was definitely not what I wanted,” said Baggett. “The team and I have been working really hard, so it’s disappointing to end the night like that. It was everything I had to make it through the main event, the pain was excruciating. Hopefully the season will come down to the last round and every point will count.”

Ken Roczen finished in second in 250SX at Anaheim.
Ken Roczen took second behind Eli Tomac in the 250SX West class at Anaheim.

Avoiding the melee at the start, Tomac quickly assumed the lead and held steady out front to the finish. Roczen, too, settled into position early in the contest, but was unable to gain ground on the Honda ace.

“You can’t win the championship at the first race, but you can lose it,” said Roczen. “I am glad that I was able to finish on the podium and put my team in good position for the championship.”

Seely had to work his way around Malcolm Stewart to reach the final step on the podium, finally getting past the KTM rider half-way through the race. Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Jason Anderson also pushed pass Stewart to settle into fourth.

Behind Stewart, the battle for sixth was heated between Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Tyla Rattray, Rockstar Suzuki’s Ryan Sipes and eventual seventh-place finisher Zach Osborne of Geico Honda. Rattray worked his way up the ranks early from eighth to sixth, but a late charging Osborne and Sipes were able to push past to finish sixth and seventh respectively ahead of the South African rider.

Tomac gets the lion’s share of points for the first round of the season and early on appears to be the rider to beat in the 250SX West class.

Jason Anderson took fourth in Anaheim in 250SX.
Jason Anderson took fourth in Anaheim in 250SX.

Anaheim 1 250SX Results 2013:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Cole Seely (Honda)
4. Jason Anderson (Suzuki)
5. Malcolm Stewart (KTM)
6. Ryan Sipes (Suzuki)
7. Zach Osborne (Honda)
8. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki)
9. Max Anstie (Suzuki)
10. Michael Leib (Honda)
11. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
12. Christian Craig (Honda)
13. J. Savatgy (KTM)
14. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki)
15. Travis Baker (Yamaha) 

250SX West Championship Points 2013:
1. Eli Tomac, 25
2. Ken Roczen, 22
3. Cole Seely, 20
4. Jason Anderson, 18
5. Malcolm Stewart, 16
6. Ryan Sipes, 15
7. Zach Osborne, 14
8. Tyla Rattray, 13
9. Max Anstie, 12
10. Michael Leib, 11

Facebook comments