Phoenix 250 Supercross Results 2013

January 12, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

250 Supercross Phoenix podium: Eli Tomac  center  in first  Ken Roczen  left  in second and Martin Davalos  right  in third.
250 Supercross Phoenix podium: Eli Tomac (center) in first, Ken Roczen (left) in second and Martin Davalos (right) in third.

Monster Energy AMA Supercross continued with Round 2 in Phoenix and in the 250 class, Eli Tomac of Geico Honda remains undefeated in the West division after taking the win by over 10 seconds ahead of Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos rounded out the podium.

“You always hope to win by 10 seconds,” said Tomac. “That’s about as good as it gets in this sport. But you also know there are so many things that can happen. You have to just take it as it comes and ride hard the whole time. You can’t worry too much about everyone else.

“My starts have been pretty terrible. I’ve been lining up on the inside and just playing it safe. I’ve been lucky to even be in the top five or six and then I have to make it up from there. It’s definitely something I need to work on.”

Davalos got off the start and gained an early advantage, but had plenty of pressure from Tomac, Roczen, Troy Lee Designs’ Cole Seely and his teammate Jessy Nelson. Tomac rode like a beast though and got to the front half-way through the race. Davalos held strong in second until the final lap, but Roczen remained within reach of the pass and made his move just before the checkers.

Seely finished the night in fourth, followed by Nelson in fifth and Geico Honda rider Zach Osborne in fifth.

Tomac remains steady in the overall points lead, followed by Roczen six points back in second. Seely remains in third and Ryan Sipes moved from sixth to fourth.

Phoenix 250 Supercross Results 2013:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki)
4. Cole Seely (Honda)
5. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
6. Zach Osborne (Honda)
7. Ryan Sipes (Suzuki)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
9. Joey Savatgy (Honda)
10. Christian Craig (Honda)
11. Max Anstie (Suzuki)
12. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki)
13. Austin Politelli (Honda)
14. Josh Cachia (KTM)

250 Supercross West Championship Points:
1. Eli Tomac, 50
2. Ken Roczen, 44
3. Cole Seely, 38
4. Ryan Sipes, 29
5. Zach Osborne, 29
6. Kyle Cunningham, 23
7. Tyla Rattray, 22
8. Max Anstie, 22
9. Martin Davalos, 21
10. Joey Savatgy, 20

Facebook comments