Anaheim 3 250 Supercross Results 2013

February 2, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Ken Roczen earned his second consecutive win of the season at Anaheim 3.
Ken Roczen grabbed his second consecutive win of the season in 250 SX at Anaheim 3.

Just after the gate dropped in 250 SX action at Anaheim 3, it was JDR/J-Star/KTM’s Joey Savatgy out front, having scored the holeshot and early lead. The rookie rider didn’t stay there for long though, and lost ground to Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen within the opening laps. Once the German rider got the lead, he was uncatchable, taking his second consecutive win of the season. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos gave chase for the entire race, keeping close to Roczen and at times seeming to be within striking distance, but was unable to advance past second-place. Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac had to weave his way through the crowd through most of the contest, but got to third-place during the final laps, securing the final step on the podium.

“It is so great to get up here and have my hard work finally pay off,” said Roczen. “My team and I have been working really hard this year to put our KTM’s up front and in the championship hunt and I feel like we are in a good position. I can’t wait for the next race.”

Roczen and Davalos were positioned well for an attack on the front right off the start, settling into second and third respectively behind Savatgy. Tomac, on the other hand, was struggling back from a bad start that left him in eighth through the opening laps. The Honda rider had some difficulty making up ground, and he was locked in a battle with Troy Lee Designs’ Cole Seely as the two tried to advance. Seely ran into trouble mid-race and fell back to 17th after a fall, recovering to 12th before the checkers. Once Seely was out of the way, Tomac made quick work of Savatgy, who was holding strong in third behind Roczen and Davalos. Yamaha rider Kyle Cunningham then took on Savatgy, moving into fourth with close to five laps remaining in the contest.

“I stuttered a little bit at the start tonight and that cost me,” Tomac said. “I got bunched up mid-pack around the first corner and had to fight through a bunch of other riders. The guys out front were able to put some distance on me early and by the time I made it up to third place they were too far gone. I rode a little tight as well. I’m not sure why.

“The main thing is we did earn some points and we moved up a spot in the standings. We’ve got some work to do but we’re only halfway through the season so there is time.”

Ken Roczen remains the overall points leader in 250 SX West following his win at Anaheim 3.
Anaheim 3 250 SX podium with Ken Roczen  center  in first  Martin Davalos  left  in second and Eli Tomac  right  in third.
Anaheim 3 250 SX podium with Ken Roczen (center) in first, Martin Davalos (left) in second and Eli Tomac (right) in third.

Roczen extended his overall lead and now sits 20 points ahead of new second-placed rider, Tomac. Seely slipped to third overall thanks to his trouble in Anaheim 3, while Davalos moved up to fourth, trailing the TLD rider by 19 points.

Anaheim 3 250 Supercross Results 2013
1. Ken Roczen (KTM)
2. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki)
3. Eli Tomac (Honda)
4. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
5. Jason Anderson (Suzuki)
6. Travis Baker (Yamaha)
7. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
8. Austin Politelli (Honda)
9. Max Anstie (Suzuki)
10. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
11. Zach Osborne (Honda)
12. Cole Seely (Honda)
13. Josh Cachia (KTM)
14. Christian Craig (Honda)
15. Scott Champion (Honda)

250 Supercross West Championship Points:
1. Ken Roczen, 116
2. Eli Tomac, 96
3. Cole Seely, 89
4. Martin Davalos, 70
5. Jason Anderson, 68
6. Zach Osborne, 68
7. Kyle Cunningham, 67
8. Christian Craig, 54
9. Joey Savatgy, 52
10. Jessy Nelson 49

Facebook comments