Arenacross Notebook Breaking Down the Race

February 15, 2013
Courtesy of Arenacross Media
AMSOIL Arenacross Logo

After six rounds of action in which the brand new competition format of AMSOIL Arenacross, featuring Ricky Carmichael’s Road to Supercross, has produced some of the most intense racing in history, the newest groundbreaking feature of the championship will take center stage this Saturday night in Little Rock, Ark. The seventh round of the season inside Verizon Arena will signify the beginning of the inaugural Race to the Championship, which will determine who will win the Arenacross Class title for the 2013 season.

“Unpredictability is one of the trademarks of AMSOIL Arenacross,” said Feld Motor Sports Vice President of Two Wheel Operations Todd Jendro. “With the introduction of the Race to the Championship, there truly will be no way to know how this season could unfold, making these final four rounds extremely important.”

The opening six rounds of the season featured 11 nights of competition that has set the stage for the Race to the Championship. Inspired to represent a playoff atmosphere, the Race to the Championship is the first initiative of its kind in motorcycle racing, pitting the top 10 riders in the point standings in a captivating battle over the final four rounds of the season, which will feature five nights of action, to ultimately crown the 2013 AMSOIL Arenacross Champion.

Seeding for the 10 riders who will compete in the Race to the Championship will be based on each riders’ current position in the standings. The current points leader, Babbitt’s Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis’ Tyler Bowers, has earned the top seed. He is joined by nine of the sport’s fastest riders, three of whom have also earned overall victories this season along with Bowers. The Race to the Championship point standings have been reset to reflect those competing for the title as follows:

1. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ky., Kawasaki – 6
2. Zach Ames, Prospect, Ohio, Kawasaki – 5
3. Jeff Gibson, Pataskala, Ohio, KTM – 4
4. Kelly Smith, Ludington, Mich., KTM – 4
5. Nathan Skaggs, Chillicothe, Ohio, KTM – 3
6. Michael McDade, Edinburg, Pa., Kawasaki – 3
7. Willy Browning, Pleasantville, Ohio, KTM – 2
8. Gared Steinke, Woodland, Calif., Kawasaki – 2
9. Daniel Blair, Lodi, Calif., Suzuki – 1
10. Dave Ginolfi, Budd Lake, N.J., KTM – 1

These 10 riders will be the only competitors eligible to claim the AMSOIL Arenacross Championship. The winner will become the 28th champion in the sport’s history. Riders in positions 11th or higher in the standings will compete for a purse, season-ending bonuses, in addition to their 2014 AMSOIL Arenacross number. The current standings for these riders are as follows:

11. Kyle White, Freeport, Ill., Honda – 140
12. Steven Mages, Sardinia, Ohio, KTM – 135
13. Robby Marshall, Stow, Mass., KTM – 78
14. Michael Willard, Newark, Ohio, KTM – 66
15. Tyler Villopoto, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki – 56
16. Steve Roman, Apollo, Pa., Suzuki – 46
17. Michael Lang, Saugerties, N.Y., Honda – 36
18. Maxx Malatia, Itasca, Ill., Honda – 36
19. Cory Green, Nowata, Okla., Suzuki – 26
20. Lance Vincent, Youngsville, La., KTM – 23

“There is nothing more captivating than a dramatic run to the championship where every single point counts,” said AMSOIL Arenacross Director of Operations Mike Muye. “These riders already give it their all every time they compete, but with so much more on the line over the next four rounds, we’re destined to see some incredible racing.”

The racing format that features two Main Events during each night of action, an inversion between the first and second Main Event, as well as Head-to-Head Bracket Racing will remain throughout the Race to the Championship. However, over the span of the final five nights of competition the championship points that are on the line will become even more important and more coveted than ever before. Truly every point will count from now until the end of the season.

The opening round of the Race to the Championship will kick off on Saturday, February 16, from Little Rock’s Verizon Arena. All the action begins at 8:00 p.m. ET, with next-day broadcast coverage airing exclusively on SPEED, beginning at 1:00 p.m. ET.

Live timing and scoring from each round of the AMSOIL Arenacross season returns for the 2013 season! To follow the intense racing action live, log onto

For more information on the 2013 AMSOIL Arenacross season, log on to

Never miss out on the latest news! Follow the AMSOIL Arenacross on Facebook and Twitter! Log on to and today!