Dallas 450 Supercross Results 2013

February 16, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto grabbed his third 450 SX win of the 2013 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season in Dallas. RV beat Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps by over three seconds at the checkers, with Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey close behind in third.

RV, Millsaps and Two Two Motorsports’ Chad Reed led the way off the start. Millsaps was awarded the holeshot, but Villopoto was quick to move to the front. Once in the lead, the defending Supercross champ was untouchable, building a gap on his closest competition to over seven seconds during the race.

“Starts are definitely important,” said Villopoto, who now has the most wins in the championship. “I’ve had a target on my back this year, everyone knows that, and it’s stressful. I’m just trying to have fun with riding again. If we get third, it’s on the podium, and if it’s second, that’s good too. Davi has been riding really good this year, so we have to just chip away at it. It’s going to take a while.”

Reed slipped into second-place early on and kept Millsaps at bay for a period, but after five laps the current points leader gained the runner-up position and held there to the finish.

“It was definitely a good 20 laps,” said Millsaps. “I haven’t ridden all week because I’ve been sick, so it’s good to come away with a strong finish. Ryan (Villopoto) rode really well, so you have to give it to him.”

Dungey was back in fourth through the opening laps but gained ground as the event progressed and started hounding Reed mid-race, finally moving into third with five laps remaining. Reed maintained in fourth to the finish with JGRMX’s Justin Brayton behind in fifth and Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia in sixth. Bam Bam’s teammate, Trey Canard, took a hard-fought seventh, advancing from outside the top-10 during the race after a bad start.

Due to a last minute broken clutch, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart did not compete, adding another instance of unfortunate luck for the rider who has been tormented by misfortune all year.

Thanks to yet another strong performance, Millsaps remains the overall points leader. He is 21 points ahead of Dungey in second, while Villopoto remains in third, now just three points behind the KTM rider. Canard held to fourth but has Reed nipping at his heels, just four points back in fifth.

Dallas 450 Supercross Results 2013:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki)
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
4. Chad Reed (Honda)
5. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
6. Justin Barcia (Honda)
7. Trey Canard (Honda)
8. Matt Goerke (KTM)
9. Andrew Short (Honda)
10. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
11. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
12. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)
13. Jimmy Albertson (Honda)
14. Bobby Kiniry (Yamaha)
15. Josh Hill (Suzuki)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2013:
1. Davi Millsaps, 154
2. Ryan Dungey, 133
3. Ryan Villopoto, 130
4. Trey Canard, 119
5. Chad Reed, 115
6. Justin Barcia, 98
7. Andrew Short, 95
8. Justin Brayton, 83
9. James Stewart, 75
10. Matt Goerke, 69