San Diego 250 Supercross Results 2013

February 9, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac earned his fourth 250 SX win of the season in San Diego, the final stop for Western Regional riders until the series lands in Seattle on April 20, 2013. Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen didn’t let Tomac run away with it, cutting a four second gap on the Honda ace to just 0.202 by the checkers. Time ran out before the German rider could make a move for the front though, and he settles for second. Rockstar Suzuki’s Jason Anderson put in a commanding performance as well, getting out front early and leading the initial laps. He slipped back as Tomac and Roczen pushed for the lead and rounded out the podium in third.

“I enjoyed myself tonight,” Tomac said. “I really liked this track. It was fun to ride. The only sketchy part was the whoops and I was getting lazy through there towards the end of the race but I saw that I had a big enough lead that I didn’t need to push it. Everything worked out well.”

Anderson faced heavy pressure from the start after grabbing the holeshot, with Tomac and Roczen keeping close behind through the opening laps. JDR JStar KTM’s Malcolm Stewart was in the mix as well, holding to fourth through the first half of competition, followed by HRT Honda’s Austin Politelli in fifth. Stewart eventually crashed hard exiting the whoops, ending the night in last place. Politelli fared much better, taking advantage of Stewart’s misfortune to move into fourth, where he held to the finish. Yamaha rider Kyle Cunningham blasted through the crowd as the race came to a close, moving from outside the top-10 to finish the night in fifth. He was followed by Valli Motorsports’ Travis Baker in sixth and Tomac’s teammate, Zach Osborne in seventh.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawaski’s Tyla Rattray finished in eighth, with his teammate, Martin Davalos, taking a well-earned ninth. Davalos went down on the first lap and had to battle back from 17th. Troy Lee Designs’ Jessy Nelson rounded out the top-10.

Roczen continues to lead overall, despite Tomac having secured four wins out of six rounds. As riders head into the break, Tomac lags by 17 points in second-place, while Nelson’s teammate, Cole Seely, sits in third. Anderson moved up to fourth and is now followed by Cunningham in fifth.

San Diego 250 Supercross Results 2013:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Jason Anderson (Suzuki)
4. Austin Politelli (Honda)
5. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha)
6. Travis Baker (Yamaha)
7. Zach Osborne (Honda)
8. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki)
9. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki)
10. Jessy Nelson (Honda)
11. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
12. Josh Cachia (KTM)
13. Christian Craig (Honda)
14. Jean Ramos (Kawasaki)
15. Cole Seely (Honda)

250 Supercross West Championship Points 2013:
1. Ken Rocze, 138
2. Eli Tomac, 121
3. Cole Seely, 95
4. Jason Anderson, 88
5. Kyle Cunningham, 83
6. Martin Davalos, 82
7. Zach Osborne, 82
8. Joey Savatgy, 62
9. Christian Craig, 62
10. Jessy Nelson, 60

Facebook comments