Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2013

March 9, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

The 2013 Monster Energy Supercross showdown at Daytona saw Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto earn his fifth win of the season and become part of an elite group of racers in the history of the sport, joining Bob Hannah, Mike Kiedrowski, Jeremy McGrath and Chad Reed as a three-time Daytona champion. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey trailed in second followed by Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia in third.

The familiar names on the podium don’t give justice to just how harrowing the battles were in the 450 race. Ricky Carmichael returned for the sixth consecutive year as designer of the course on the infield of Daytona International Speedway, and he presented an almost identical track as he did in 2012. Following the mud-bath last year, Carmichael felt the course deserved another chance in better conditions and any changes he made were slight. Full of technical rhythm sections, a “gator pit,” and sandy soil that got so rutted that it looked like riders were navigating huge tree roots mid-race, it was one of the most difficult courses Daytona’s ever seen. It was also one of the longest on schedule this year, making it a test of endurance and skill for the entire field.

Action was intense before the 20-lap battle for the checkers even started. Heat races definitely had moments of tension, but were nothing like the LCQ which saw HYPER-X’s Weston Peick and N-Fab TiLUBE’s Bobby Kiniry fight with all they had to earn the final qualifying position to the main. They traded positions numerous times, got physical at every opportunity and came across the finish so close that officials had to review the final call, which gave Kiniry entry to the next race. After making a “visual determination,” it was decided that Peick had crossed the threshold first and the decision was reversed. Peick’s long night ended half-way through the main event as he was only able to complete 10 laps, leaving him 18th.

The opening laps of the main were chaotic. Villopoto gained an early lead but then fell back after running off track briefly. This gave Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, a one-time entrant in the 450 class this season and current 250 SX West points leader, the chance to move to the front, which he took without hesitation. Barcia was running in second and RV had recovered to third after the first lap, and soon after Villopoto moved to the runner-up spot. Barcia didn’t give the Kawasaki rider any breathing room though, and the two swapped positions a number of times, all while keeping pace with Roczen out front.

Behind the skirmish for the lead, Rockstar Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps had one of his first strokes of bad luck all year, going down and falling outside the top-10. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart experienced an almost identical crash soon after in the same spot, a tight left-hander with soft dirt that gave way when he tried too tight a line. Elsewhere, Dungey appeared somewhat shaken after hitting a landing hard in the rhythm section which caused a head swap similar to Dean Wilson’s in the earlier 250 main. All of this happened within the first four laps.

Once riders found their rhythm on track, things smoothed out a bit. Villopoto began to stretch his lead while Dungey and Barcia battled back and forth for second-place.

“Daytona is a unique place to race,” Villopoto said. “To win it is pretty awesome. It’s not like any other racing. If you can get a win here, it shows you are definitely one of the best. Sometimes it doesn’t go as planned but I’ll take it. It feels really good.”

Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac was running in fourth after charging up from eighth through the opening laps and, despite going down with just three laps remaining, was able to hold there to the checkers.

Roczen was in fifth as the race approached its mid-point, but had Barcia’s teammate, Trey Canard, and Two Two Motorsports’ Chad Reed fast approaching from behind. Reed hit a snag when he got squirly in the whoops and let go of his bike, but was able to get back in the game to wage a battle for fifth. The three riders were neck-and-neck for a period, until Reed and Canard both found a line past the German rider with five laps remaining. Reed ended the night fifth while Canard claimed sixth, leaving Roczen in seventh. Eighth-place finisher, Stewart, started the night with a final lap pass to win his heat race, but his troubles in the main left him too far back to challenge for a podium. RCH’s Broc Tickle ended in ninth, followed by Millsaps, who had scraped his way to 10th before the finish.

Villopoto now leads the series by two points over Millsaps, and Dungey is 14 points adrift of RV in third. Canard remains fourth and Reed holds steady in fifth but both are now mathematically tied at 163.

Daytona 450 Supercross Results 2013:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Justin Barcia (Honda)
4. Eli Tomac (Honda)
5. Chad Reed (Honda)
6. Trey Canard (Honda)
7. Ken Roczen (KTM)
8. James Stewart (Suzuki)
9. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
10. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki)
11. Matt Goerke (KTM)
12. Andrew Short (KTM)
13. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
14. Les Smith (KTM)
15. Josh Hill (Suzuki)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2013:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 202
2. Davi Millsaps, 200
3. Ryan Dungey, 188
4. Trey Canard, 163
5. Chad Reed, 163
6. Justin Barcia, 152
7. James Stewart, 135
8. Andrew Short, 122
9. Justin Brayton, 104
10. Broc Tickle, 99

Facebook comments