Superstore Doles Out $3200 at RCSX

March 12, 2013
Courtesy of Geiger Media
Grant Harlan won the holeshot award in the 85cc  7-11  class.
Grant Harlan won the holeshot award in the 85cc (7-11) class.

More than 1,000 of the top amateur motocross riders in the country gathered Sunday and Monday at historic Daytona International Speedway for the fourth annual Monster Energy Ricky Carmichael Daytona Amateur Supercross. As always, was on hand, awarding $3,200 through its Holeshot Awards program.

A full slate of amateur classes — ranging from 50cc all the way to Vet and Pro level — took on the Daytona Supercross track after a wild Saturday night of AMA Supercross racing from the pros.

“The weather, the racers and the host made the perfect trifecta of racing,” said Tim Clark, Director Marketing for Motorcycle Superstore. “Ricky Carmichael greeted every class champion and Holeshot Award winner on the podium, which made it so special. The conditions were perfect and the racers raved about the track and the opportunity to race on the Daytona Supercross by Honda track.”

The event brought out some of the sport’s biggest names and sponsors to scout the up-and-coming talent on the amateur motocross circuit.

The action started Sunday with practice and heat races, while 32 champions were crowned following all the racing action Monday. Carmichael, dirt bike racing’s most prolific champion, was on site all weekend, personally honoring each amateur champ during podium celebrations.

Perfect Florida weather made for ideal track conditions and the exciting bar-to-bar racing that ensued showcased many of the top amateurs in the world.

Florida’s Jordan Bailey had a successful weekend in the Mini divisions, taking home a championship in the 85cc (9-13) class and finishing fourth overall in Super Mini (12-16). Some of his biggest challenges came from Brazilian Enzo Lopes, who finished second and seventh, respectively, and Pennsylvania’s Broc Papi, who went home with third- and eighth-place finishes overall. Another Floridian, Raymyller Alves, topped a stacked field in the Super Mini (12-16) class, while Michigan’s Joey Crown and Maryland’s Tyler Kirschner each earned podium finishes in the class.

Holeshot winners
250 A/Pro Sport — Jace Owen
250 B — Oscar Esparis
250 C (12-16) — Bailey Plouffe
250 C (17+) — Robbey Ruffner
450 A/Pro Sport — RJ Hampshire
450 B — David Macfarlane
450 C (14-21) — Robbey Ruffner
450 C (22+) — Ryan Quinn
50cc (4-6) AMA Stock 1 — Daxton Bennick
50cc (7-8) — Evan Ferry
65cc (10-11) — Bryce Clark
65cc (7-9) — Corey Passieu
65cc (7-11) — Ty Masterpool
85cc (7-11) — Grant Harlan
85cc (9-13) — Jordan Bailey
College (17-24) — RJ Hampshire
Girls (9-13) — Jordan Jarvis
Junior 25+ — John Ayers
Masters 50+ — John Camelio
Mini Sr. (12-15) – Enzo Lopes
Schoolboy 1 (12-16) — Alexander Frye
Schoolboy 2 (13-16) — Donny Brown
Senior A 40+ — Barry Carsten
Senior A 45+ — John Grewe
Senior B/C 40+ — Daniel Zullo
Senior B/C 45+ — Rick Bigalow
Super Mini (12-16) — Cole Mattison
Two-Stroke (16+) — Alexander Frye
Vet 30+ — Ivo Camacho
Vet A 35+ — John Grewe
Vet B/C — Chad Murphy
Women (14+) — Christina Older

Facebook comments