Toronto 450 Supercross Results 2013

March 23, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

The 450 Supercross main event start at Rogers Center in Toronto left fans breathless as Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopto and Rockstar Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps scraped for the advantage. RV was awarded the holeshot, and though he slipped in position through the first half of the race, was able to rally for the lead in the final laps, earning his seventh win of the season. Millsaps fought valiantly but couldn’t hold RV back, ending the night in second. Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey rounded out the podium in third.

Though Villopoto won the holeshot, it was Millsaps who led early on. The Suzuki ace maintained his lead for 11 laps, but RV, ever on the rear tire of the RM-Z450, eventually found a line to the front and took off like a rocket once he gained the front. TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed was in the mix as well, holding to second-place briefly through the first lap, then falling to third and facing heavy pressure from Dungey in fourth. The two diced it out for the remainder of the race, but once they encountered lappers around Lap 13, Dungey was able to hold firm to take the final step on the rostrum.

Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia finished the night in fifth, moving into position in the final laps after long-running fifth-placed rider, James Stewart of Yoshimura Suzuki, went down in the loose dirt. Villopoto’s teammate, Jake Weimer, also slipped past when JS7 went down to finish in sixth. Stewart recovered quickly from his fall and maintained seventh to the checkers.

RCH’s Broc Tickle finished in eighth and was followed by BTO Sports’ Andrew Short in ninth. Short’s teammate, Matt Goerke, rounded out the top-10.

Villopoto stretched his overall lead to 12 points over Millsaps, and with only five rounds remaining in the season appears poised to earn yet another title. Dungey is 10 points adrift of Millsaps in third, while Reed holds doggedly to fourth ahead of Barcia in fifth.

450 Supercross Toronto Results 2013:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki)
3. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
4. Chad Reed (Honda)
5. Justin Barcia (Honda)
6. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
7. James Stewart (Suzuki)
8. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
9. Andrew Short (KTM)
10. Matt Goerke (KTM)
11. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
12. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
13. Josh Hill (Suzuki)
14. Ben LaMay (Yamaha)
15. Bobby Kiniry (Yamaha)

450 Supercross Championship Points 2013:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 252
2. Davi Millsaps, 240
3. Ryan Dungey, 230
4. Chad Reed, 196
5. Justin Barcia, 184
6. James Stewart, 169
7. Trey Canard, 165
8. Andrew Short, 148
9. Justin Brayton, 122
10. Broc Tickle, 122