Cajun Classic National Enduro Results 2013

April 15, 2013

By Byron Wilson

After falling out of competition in the Concho National Enduro with a mechanical issue, Factory FMF/KTM’s Charlie Mullins was looking to get back on track in Round 4 at the Cajun Classic Enduro. The KTM rider did so with an impressive ride through muddy, difficult conditions, winning all six stages and coming away with his third win of the season. Mullins beat Factory Husaberg’s Russell Bobbitt by over two minutes in combined time, while Bobbitt’s teammate, Nick Fahringer, rounded out the podium.

“I have never won all six special tests before,” said Mullins. “It feels pretty cool to do that. I felt really good today and had no issues. My bike was flawless. My team did a great job with my bike and I am grateful I was able to do my end and get the win.”

The Kitsatchie National Forest was hit by a thunderstorm the night before racing started, creating added dimension to the already varied landscape riders faced through the special tests.

Russell Bobbitt took the runner-up spot in the Cajun Classic National Enduro.
Russell Bobbitt managed the soggy terrain well, placing second in the Cajun Classic National Enduro.

“The track was definitely muddy in sections and very slick to ride, but overall I felt pretty good today,” said Bobbitt. “I had a lot of fun in the second test section. It was really sandy which made it a blast to ride. The third section was pretty hard-packed and slick and I didn’t enjoy that one as much. The fifth and sixth tests were pretty fast paced and I was able to ride pretty strong in those tests. I am happy with a podium result today but definitely looking to get up to the top step of the podium.”

Bobbitt kept close to Mullins through four of the special tests, finishing second in the opening two and closing two sections. He lost ground slightly mid-race, but never fell outside the top-five. Fahringer gained ground in the final three sections, placing third in each, allowing him to move past fellow Husaberg rider, Mike Lafferty, who ended the day in fourth-place. Am Pro Yamaha’s Jesse Groemm ended the day in fifth.

Mullins extended his points lead over Bobbitt to 11 following his Round 4 win. Fahringer continues to sit in third, and is 17 points adrift of Mullins. Lafferty moved up to fourth-place, bumping Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong to fifth. There are six rounds remaining in the 2013 Rekluse AMA National Enduro series, with the next stop scheduled for April 28, 2013 in West Point, Tennessee.

Cajun Classic National Enduro Results 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins (KTM)
2. Russell Bobbitt (Husaberg)
3. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
4. Michael Lafferty (Husaberg)
5. Jesse Groemm (Yamaha)
6. Grant Baylor (KTM)
7. Josh Weisenfels (Yamaha)
8. Andrew DeLong (Husqvarna)
9. Ian Blythe (KTM)
10. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
11. Ryan Belue (Yamaha)
12. Zach Ingram (Yamaha)
13. Paddy Holloway (KTM)
14. Kyle MCDonal (Husaberg)
15. Martin Howell (KTM)

National Enduro Series Points 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins, 100
2. Russell Bobbitt, 89
3. Nick Fahringer, 83
4. Michael Lafferty, 74
5. Andrew DeLong, 71
6. Grant Baylor, 59
7. Brad Bakken, 54
8. Ian Blythe, 50
9. Jesse Groemm, 45
10. Kyle McDonal, 35