Houston 450 Supercross Results 2013

April 6, 2013
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Defending Supercross champion Ryan Villopoto extended his advantage in the 2013 series, claiming victory in Houston. The Monster Energy Kawasaki ace led every lap and went unchallenged to the finish, with KTM’s Ryan Dungey finishing a distance second. Honda’s Trey Canard returned to action after missing the past round with a concussion to finish third, one spot ahead of Honda Muscle Milk teammate Justin Barcia. James Stewart endured another disappointing outing with a DNF after crashing mid-race.


Holeshot specialist Mike Alessi took his customary honors when the gate dropped for the 20-lap Supercross main. Before the first lap was done Villopoto had easily dispatched the fast-starting Suzuki rider and checked out.

Canard got around Alessi on Lap 2, with Dungey and Stewart taking their turn battling around the 800 numberplate. As for Millsaps, the one-time points leader was relegated to eighth, behind Justin Barcia and Justin Brayton.

Dungey and Stewart both got around Canard on Lap 8, but had more than five seconds to make up on Villopoto. But with 10 to go Stewart lost the front end turning through a speedy corner and lost 10 places – dropping to 13th. Losing his front brake, the former champ tried to continue, but eventually retired from the race.

Fellow RM-Z450 rider Alessi also suffered a DNF, with his impressive opening laps foiled by a nasty digger in the whoops that ended his night.

Villopoto didn’t need any extra help and easily cruised to his fifth consecutive Supercross win, his sixth of the last seven rounds. His nearest competitor, Millsaps, rode a quiet fifth, unable to challenge the factory Hondas for another podium finish. He now sits 21 points adrift of Villpoto with four rounds remaining.

“It was tough out there tonight,” said Villopoto. “The track was breaking down out there, and there were several variables that we had to deal with. You had to move quickly out there tonight, and that is what I did in the early part of the race. I wanted to establish a lead before the lapped riders would begin to play a factor in the race.”

Dungey lost another three points to Villopoto, with the KTM ace now 25 down. The 2010 Supercross champion cited a poor start as keeping him from reeling in RV, with Dungey desperately needing wins now to close the gap in the title chase.

“I definitely needed a better start tonight,” said Dungey. “We are all so close in lap times that if you don’t get the best start, the leaders pull away quickly. I was able to get into second place but didn’t leave myself enough time to catch Ryan (Villopoto). Overall, I am happy to be on the podium and very happy with my bike and hope to continue to improve at the next round,”

Ryan Dungey proved Mr. Consistency once again at Houston  taking second behind a dominating Villopoto.
Ryan Dungey (5) was Mr. Consistency once again at Houston, taking second behind a dominating Villopoto. Meanwhile, James Stewart (7) proved inconsistent, crashing his RM-Z450 mid-race and unable to finish.

2013 Houston 450 Supercross Results:
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Trey Canard (Honda)
4. Justin Barcia (Honda)
5. David Millsaps (Suzuki)
6. Justin Brayton (Yamaha)
7. Andrew Short (KTM)
8. Joshua Hill (Suzuki)
9. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
10. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
11. Matthew Goerke (KTM)
12. Phillip Nicoletti (Yamaha)
13. Robert Kiniry (Yamaha)
14. Les Smith (KTM)
15. Chris Blose (Yamaha)
16. Kyle Partridge (Honda)
17. Weston Peick (Suzuki)
18. Adam Enticknap (Honda)
19. James Stewart (Suzuki)
20. Mike Alessi (Suzuki)

2013 450 Supercross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Villopoto, 277
2. Davi Millsaps, 256
3. Ryan Dungey, 252
4. Justin Barcia, 202
5. Chad Reed, 196
6. Trey Canard, 185
7. James Stewart, 171
8. Andrew Short, 162
9. Justin Brayton, 162
10. Broc Tickle, 133


Facebook comments