Minneapolis 250 Supercross Results 2013

April 13, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

In the penultimate 250 SX East race of the season in Minneapolis, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin grabbed his fourth win of the season. The French rider bested current points leader, Wil Hahn of Geico Honda, by over eight seconds at the checkers and had over 15 seconds on third-place finisher, Blake Wharton of Rockstar Suzuki.

Musquin moved to the lead off the start and never looked back, gaining a multi-second advantage within the opening laps. Wharton and Hahn, meanwhile, were at each other’s throats, vying in a close battle for position. Wharton made a slight error early on which allowed 2013 Arenacross champion Tyler Bowers of Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki to move past into third, but Wharton was quick to correct and didn’t give Bowers any breathing room.

Mid-race Wharton regained the number three spot, but his aggressive pass knocked Bowers to the ground momentarily and cost the Kawasaki rider two positions. Motoconcepts’ Gavin Faith slipped past into fourth and Bowers was able to recover to fifth, both riders holding their respective positions to the finish.

The gaps between riders stretched so wide that by the end Musquin was over 41 seconds on sixth-place finisher Lance Vincent of Munn Racing KTM. Slaton’s Vince Friese ended the night in seventh with Pilgrim Powersports’ A.J. Catanzaro trailing in eighth. KTM rider Steven Clarke grabbed ninth and AX Tour’s Cole Thompson rounded out the top-10.

Hann and Musquin are now separated by a slim five points, with the final SX East champion to be decided during the finale in Las Vegas. Wharton sits third overall 20 points adrift of Musquin while Friese is fourth just three points ahead of Faith, in fifth.
Minneapolis 250 Supercross Results 2013:
1. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
2. Wil Hahn (Honda)
3. Blake Wharton (Suzuki)
4. Gavin Faith (Honda)
5. Tyler Bowers (Kawasaki)
6. Lance Vincent (KTM)
7. Vince Friese (Honda)
8. A.J. Catanzaro (Kawasaki)
9. Steven Clarke (KTM)
10. Cole Thompson (Honda)
11. Mitchell Oldenburg (Honda)
12. Jackson Richardson (Honda)
13. Daniel Herrlein (Honda)
14. Landen Powell (Honda)
15. Levi Kilbarger (Honda)

250 Supercross East Points 2013:
1. Wil Hahn, 178
2. Marvin Musquin, 173
3. Blake Wharton, 153
4. Vince Friese, 103
5. Gavin Faith, 100
6. Dean Wilson, 87
7. Cole Thompson, 83
8. Kyle Peters, 78
9. Jeremy Martin, 71
10. Justin Hill, 68

Facebook comments