World Supersport Aragon Results 2013

April 14, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

MAHI Racing Team India’s Fabien Foret took a hard-fought win in World Supersport at Aragon, coming through on top after a battle with Yakhnich Motorsport’s Sam Lowes on the final lap. Lowes had a mechanical issue and was forced to drop out of competition while leading on the penultimate lap, giving Foret an open track to the checkers. Pata Honda World Supersport’s Michael van der Mark finished in second-place, followed by Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres’ Luca Scassa in third.

The incident-packed race saw many top riders exit before the finish. Before Lowes’ misfortune, defending World Supersport champion, Kenan Sofuoglu, Foret’s teammate, pulled out with mechanical issues of his own. PRT Honda’s Sheridan Morais crashed early on and later retired, as did Racing Team Toth’s Imre Toth and Prorace’s Gabor Talmacsi. Of the 34 riders listed to start the race at Aragon, only 21 made it to the finish line.

Van der Mark led the opening laps, but Lowes quickly moved to the front on Lap 3. He held there until challenged by Kawasaki DMC-Lorenzini Team’s Kev Coughlan, who led a single lap before crashing and rejoining the action from close to last place, and then soon after Foret gained the front. The French rider held steady for a handful of laps before Lowes retaliated, but Foret never strayed far and capitalized on the Yamaha rider’s late-race trouble.

Team Goeleven’s Andrea Antonelli scored fourth-place, followed by Riccardo Russo of Puccetti Racing Kawasaki in fifth. Van der Mark’s teammate, Lorenzo Zanetti, finished sixth while Rivamoto’s Jack Kennedy ended in seventh. Lowes’ teammate, Vladimir Leonov, took eighth followed by ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse’s Roberto Rolfo in ninth and PRT Honda’s Luca Marconi in 10th.

Foret moved to the top of the points list, two points ahead of Van der Mark in second. Scassa is third overall and Sofuoglu fell to fourth.

World Supersport Aragon Results 2013:
1. Fabien Foret (Kawasaki)
2. Michael van der Mark (Honda)
3. Luca Scassa (Kawasaki)
4. Andrea Antonelli (Kawasaki)
5. Riccardo Russo (Kawasaki)
6. Lorenzo Zanetti (Honda)
7. Jack Kennedy (Honda)
8. Vladimir Leonov (Yamaha)
9. Roberto Rolfo (MV Agusta)
10. Luca Marconi (Honda)
11. Alex Baldolini (Honda)
12. Massimo Roccoli (Yamaha)
13. Kev Coughlan (Kawasaki)
14. Fabio Menghi (Yamaha)
15. Roberto Tamburini (Suzuki)

World Supersport Championship Points 2013:
1. Fabien Foret, 38
2. Michael van der Mark, 36
3. Luca Scassa, 26
4. Kenan Sofuoglu, 25
5. Andrea Antonelli, 22
6. Sam Lowes, 20
7. Lorenzo Zanetti, 18
8. Jack Kennedy, 15
9. Riccardo Russo, 11
10. David Salom, 11

Facebook comments