Limestone 100 GNCC Results 2013

May 20, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Charlie Mullins grabs his fourth GNCC win of the 2013 season at the Limestone 100.
Charlie Mullins grabs his fourth GNCC win of the 2013 season at the Limestone 100.

FMF/KTM’s Charlie Mullins grabbed his fourth GNCC victory of 2013 at the Limestone 100. His teammate, Kaliub Russell, took second-place followed by Shenandoah Honda’s Thad DuVall in third.

The weather in Springville, Indiana was pristine and track conditions were perfect, especially when compared to the previous, muddy round in Kentucky. AmPro Yamaha’s Paul Whibley earned the All Balls Racing XC1 Holeshot Award, but fell back in the ranks as his teammate, Jordan Ashburn, worked his way up the pack. Ashburn came through the first lap in the lead, followed by Mullins and DuVall. Russell got off to a bad start and was back in sixth through Lap 1, but he quickly gained ground and took over the front by the end of Lap 2.

The remaining race was a battle between Russell, Mullins and DuVall as the three swapped positions numerous times. Russell maintained the advantage mid-race, but then suffered a big crash that sent him from the lead down to third-place. Mullins took over the front and maintained to the finish while Russell powered back through the last two laps, finally catching and passing DuVall on the final rotation.

RPM/KTM’s Rory Mead trailed Whibley in fifth, earning his best GNCC finish of the current season. Carolina KTM’s Chris Bach finished in sixth followed by Ashburn in seventh.

Mullins remains the overall XC1 points leader and has a 19-point advantage over Russell. DuVall remains in third while Bach holds steady in fourth.

In XC2 Pro Lites action, KTM’s Grant Baylor scored his first career win in the class and entered the record books as the youngest rider to ever win an overall in XC2 Pro Lites competition, ousting the previous record-holder and his older brother, Steward Baylor. DirtWise Schools’ Jason Thomas finished in second followed by Obermeyer Yamaha’s Jedediah Haines in third.

Baylor flew to second-place off the start behind early race leader Andrew DeLong of F.A.R. Husqvarna. DeLong held out front for the first three laps, but dropped back to eighth on Lap 4 allowing Thomas and Baylor to duke it out for the lead. Baylor gained the advantage on the penultimate lap and held to the checkers.

KTM rider Shane Hufford Jr. ended in fourth followed by Husqvarna’s Chris Douglas in fifth. KTM’s Michael McGinnis would finish sixth. Beta’s Justin Sode grabbed the seventh position followed by DeLong in eighth.

Thomas moved into the overall XC2 Pro Lites lead ahead of Baylor, who jumped up to second. DeLong dropped down to third and Hufford Jr. remains in fourth.

In Women’s racing, KTM’s Hannah Otto earned her first race win of the season, followed by Yamaha pilot Becca Sheets in second and KTM’s Mandi Mastin in third. Despite missing the race in Indiana, Kacy Martinez remains the overall points leader. Mastain is now tied for second with Martinez’s KTM teammate, Maria Forsberg, who also missed the Limestone 100.

GNCC XC1 Pro Points 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins, 159
2. Kaliub Russell, 140
3. Thad DuVall, 114
4. Chris Bach, 106
5. Josh Strang, 98
6. Paul Whibley, 93
7. Jordan Ashburn, 83
8. Takeshi Koikeda, 73
9. Ricky Russell, 73
10. Adam Bonneur, 72

GNCC XC2 Pro Lites Points 2013:
1. Jason Thomas, 131
2. Grant Baylor, 124
3. Andrew DeLong, 121
4. Shane Hufford Jr., 85
5. Jedediah Haines, 76
6. Zach Nolan, 65
7. AJ Stewart, 62
8. Travis Coy, 61
9. Michael McGinnis, 51
10. Aaron Plessinger, 51

Women’s GNCC Points 2013:
1. Kacy Martinez, 96
2. Mandi Mastin, 94
3. Maria Forsberg, 94
4. Becca Sheets, 88
5. Hannah Otto, 86
6. Jessica Patterson, 74
7. Rachel Gutish, 70
8. Karlynn Beam, 69

Limestone 100 XC1 Pro Results 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins (KTM)
2. Kaliub Russell (KTM)
3. Thad DuVall (Honda)
4. Paul Whibley (Yamaha)
5. Rory Mead (KTM)
6. Chris Bach (KTM)
7. Jordan Ashburn (Yamaha)
8. Adam Bonneur (Kawasaki)
9. Takeshi Koikeda (Honda)
10. Ricky Russell (Yamaha)

Limestone 100 XC2 Pro Lites Results 2013:
1. Grant Baylor (KTM)
2. Jason Thomas (KTM)
3. Jedediah Haines (Yamaha)
4. Shane Hufford Jr., (KTM)
5. Chris Bach (Husqvarna)
6. Michael McGinnis (KTM)
7. Justin Sode (Beta)
8. Andrew DeLong (Husqvarna)
9. Layne Michael (KTM)
10. Ian Blythe (KTM)

Limestone 100 Women’s Results 2013:
1. Hannah Otto (KTM)
2. Becca Sheets (Yamaha)
3. Mandi Mastin (KTM)
4. Brooke Cosner (Honda)
5. Allie Spurgeon (KTM)
6. Karlynn Beam (KTM)
7. Heather Cosner (Yamaha)
8. Dawn Silva (KTM)

Facebook comments