Mammoth GNCC Results 2013

May 6, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Thad DuVall won the muddy Mammoth GNCC race in Kentucky.
Thad DuVall won the muddy Mammoth GNCC.

Off-road racers hit the backwoods of Kentucky for the Mammoth GNCC, Round 5 of the 2013 season, and thanks to the rainy days leading up to competition it was mud bath. Shenandoah Honda’s Thad DuVall notched his first race win of the season, prevailing after a back-and-forth battle with Rocky Mountain ATV’s Josh Strang. Carolina KTM’s Chris Bach rounded out the podium.

Due to the mud, race organizers decided to combine classes in the afternoon race to keep the course from being demolished. Almost 400 racers lined up for competition, pros and amateurs alike, to battle for the win in Park City, Kentucky.

DuVall took the early lead, grabbing the All Balls Racing XC1 Holeshot Award, but Strang was close behind and eventually gained the front before the end of the first lap. FMF/KTM’s Charlie Mullins, the current XC1 points leader, trailed in third with his teammate, Kaliub Russel, holding to fourth. Mullins and Russell would continue challenging for the lead for the first half of the race, but then Russell suffered a mechanical failure on Lap 3 that forced him to retire. Mullins made one more rotation before he, too, exited the competition with a mechanical issue of his own.

Strang, meanwhile, kept his lead intact through the first three laps, but DuVall gained the upper-hand on Lap 4 and held there to the checkers, building a gap on the Kawasaki rider to over 45 seconds after Strang briefly got stuck in the mud just before the finish. AmPro Yamaha’s Jordan Ashburn ended the day in fourth, followed by his teammate, Paul Whibley. Kawasaki rider Adam Bonneur was the only other XC1 rider to complete all five laps, finishing in sixth-place.

Mullins remains the overall XC1 Pro points leader ahead of Russell, who holds to second. DuVall jumped up the ranks, rising from fifth to third overall.

In XC2 action, KTM’s Jason Thomas and Husqvarna’s Andrew DeLong settled into the number one and two spots respectively through the first lap, keeping pace with the XC1 riders at the head of the pack. DeLong fell victim to the mud soon after though, experiencing a mechanical failure and pulling out of the race. Thomas held strong and set the XC2 pace for four laps until Zach Nolan made a move to the front on the final lap. Nolan was back in eighth after Lap 1, but pushed up to second by Lap 3. Nolan earned his first XC2 Pro Lites win 41 seconds ahead of Thomas, while Beta’s Justin Sode rounded out the podium. Of the 23 XC2 riders that started the race, there were only three to finish all five laps.

Despite his trouble in Kentucky, DeLong remains the overall points leader in XC2 Pro Lites, but now has just two points of an advantage on Thomas, in second.

In Women’s action, KTM’s Kacy Martinez stood out from the crowd, coming through as the only rider in her class to complete three full laps. AmPro Yamaha’s Becca Sheets nabbed second and was followed by Obermeyer Yamaha’s Rachel Gutish in third. Martinez’s teammate, Maria Forsberg, pulled out of the race in the second lap due to a mechanical issue, allowing Martinez to move to the top of the Women’s class points list.

GNCC XC1 Points 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins, 129
2. Kailub Russell, 115
3. Thad DuVall, 93
4. Chris Bach, 91
5. Josh Strang, 88
6. Paul Whibley, 75
7. Jordan Ashburn, 69
8. Ricky Russell, 62
9. Takeshi Koikeda, 61
10. Adam Bonneur, 59

Mammoth GNCC XC1 Results 2013:
1. Thad DuVall (Honda)
2. Josh Strang (Kawasaki)
3. Chris Bach (KTM)
4. Jordan Ashburn (Yamaha)
5. Paul Whibley (Yamaha)
6. Adam Bonneur (Kawasaki)
7. Charlie Mullins (KTM)
8. Mark Fortner (Beta)
9. Rory Mead (KTM)
10. Takeshi Koikeda (Honda)

GNCC XC2 Pro Lites Points:
1. Andrew DeLong, 108
2. Jason Thomas, 106
3. Grant Baylor, 94
4. Shane Hufford Jr, 67
5. AJ Stewart, 62
6. Zach Nolan, 58
7. Jed Haines, 55 
8. Travis Coy, 52
9. Aaron Plessinger, 51
10. Mark Heresco Jr, 42

Mammoth GNCC XC2 Pro Lites Results 2013:
1. Zach Nolan (KTM)
2. Jason Thomas (KTM)
3. Justin Sode (Beta)
4. Michael Mcginnis (KTM)
5. Scott Grills (Kawasaki)
6. Travis Coy (KTM)
7. Lucas Statom (Yamaha)
8. Mat Herrington (KTM)
9. Alex Benhart (Yamaha)
10. Mark Heresco Jr. (KTM)

GNCC Women’s Points 2013:
1. Kacy Martinez, 96
2. Maria Forsberg, 94
3. Mandi Mastin, 76
4. Jessica Patterson, 74
5. Rachel Gutish, 70
6. Becca Sheets, 69
7. Hannah Otto, 66
8. Ashley Copeland, 57
9. Karlynn Beam, 54
10. Allie Spurgeon, 43

Mammoth Women’s GNCC Results 2013:
1. Kacy Martinez (KTM)
2. Becca Sheets (Yamaha)
3. Rachel Gutish (Yamaha)
4. Karlynn Beam (KTM)
5. Maria Forsberg (KTM)
6. Madi Mastin (KTM)
7. Allie Spurgeon (KTM)
8. Dawn Silva (KTM)
9. Shelby Rolen (Yamaha)
10. Hannah Otto (KTM)

Facebook comments