Barber SportBike Race 1 Results 2013

June 22, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier took the AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Race 1 win at Barber, his third victory of the season. RoadRace Factory’s Jake Gagne put forth an admirable challenge for the win but fell short by just over five seconds at the checkers, finishing in the runner-up position. Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo rounded out the podium.

DiSalvo, Gagne and Beaubier waged a fierce battle at the head of the pack from the early laps, each taking turns in the lead during the first half of the contest. DiSalvo claimed an early advantage while Gagne trailed in second ahead of Beaubier, but Gagne was tenacious and found a line to the front in the opening laps. Beaubier moved as well, displacing DiSalvo to third and soon after the 2013 Daytona 200 winner made his first appearance in the lead.

Beaubier proved a tough act to upstage, and though Gagne and DiSalvo remained right on his rear tire through the subsequent laps, no one could get past the current points leader. The three riders distanced themselves from the rest of the field, leaving GEICO Motorcycle Road Racing’s Dane Westby, Beaubier’s teammate, Garrett Gerloff, Gagne’s teammate, JD Beach and National Guard’s James Rispoli to fight for fourth-place.

Westby prevailed, finishing one step off the podium two-tenths of a second ahead of Beach in fifth. Gerloff trailed in sixth, a paltry 0.061 seconds behind Beach and Rispoli ended in seventh.

Beaubier upped his points advantage to 22 over Gagne. Gerloff remains third overall and Beach holds to fourth.

Daytona SportBike Barber Race 1 Results 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
4. Dane Westby (Honda)
5. JD Beach (Yamaha)
6. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
7. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
8. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
9. Joey Pascarella (Triumph)
10. Benny Solis (Honda)
11. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
12. Ben Young (Yamaha)
13. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
14. Barrett Long (Ducati)
15. Scott Ryan (Yamaha)

Daytona SportBike Points 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier, 121
2. Jake Gagne, 99
3. Garrett Gerloff, 72
4. JD Beach, 71
5. James Rispoli, 56
6. Jake Lewis, 49
7. Bobby Fong, 49
8. Jason DiSalvo, 46
9. Dane Westby, 46
10. Ben Young, 43

Facebook comments