Barber SportBike Race 2 Results 2013

June 23, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier claimed a second AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race win at Barber with his commanding performance in Race 2 on Sunday. The 2013 Daytona 200 winner outpaced RoadRace Factory’s Jake Gagne by over six seconds at the checkers. Gagne’s teammate, JD Beach, earned his second podium of the season in third.

Beaubier’s teammate, Garrett Gerloff, ran out to take the early lead, where he remained through the initial laps. Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo trailed in second and Beaubier settled into third, but didn’t stay there long as he found a quick line past the Triumph rider and then set his sights on Gerloff. By Lap 3 Beaubier had bested his teammate as well, heading-up a tight lead pack of six riders that were all within striking distance of the front. Beaubier couldn’t be matched though and as the race wore on Gagne proved the only rider able to challenge for the win, and even he lost hope of passing Beaubier during the final laps.

Gerloff held steady with the leaders too, but was hit with a five second jump start penalty which set him well outside the top-five in adjusted time. He fought to make up the time over the course of the race, but was only able to recover to fourth before the checkers. GEICO Motorcycle Road Racing’s Dane Westby claimed fifth-place followed by National Guard’s James Rispoli in sixth. Meen Motorsports’ Jake Lewis finished in seventh and DiSalvo came across the finish in eighth.

Beaubier extended his points lead in the series with his fourth win of the year, and now sits 28 points ahead of Gagne in second. Beach is third overall followed by Gerloff in fourth and Rispoli in fifth.

Daytona SportBike Barber Race 2 Results 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. JD Beach (Yamaha)
4. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
5. Dane Westby (Honda)
6. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
7. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
8. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
9. Benny Solis (Honda)
10. Joey Pascarella (Triumph)
11. Ricardo Escalante (Yamaha)
12. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
13. Ben Young (Yamaha)
14. Barrett Long (Ducati)
15. Scott Ryan (Yamaha)

Daytona SportBike Points 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier, 152
2. Jake Gagne, 124
3. JD Beach, 92
4. Garrett Gerloff, 90
5. James Rispoli, 71
6. Jake Lewis, 63
7. Dane Westby, 62
8. Jason DiSalvo, 59
9. Ben Young, 51
10. Bobby Fong, 49

Facebook comments