Foggy Mountain National Enduro Results 2013

June 24, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Factory FMF/KTM’s Charlie Mullins took his fourth consecutive AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Series race win at the Foggy Mountain National Enduro in Pennsylvania, giving him a total of six victories this season with just three rounds of competition remaining. Factory Husaberg’s Michael Lafferty and Nick Fahringer trailed the KTM ace in second- and third-place respectively.

Though Mullins topped the timesheet in four of the six special tests, the Foggy Mountain Enduro proved a tough win for the current points leader. He got off to a rough start, falling three times in the opening section and finishing sixth-fastest. Lafferty was the quickest rider through the first test, but lost ground in the following section where he placed fifth. From there, Lafferty and Mullins remained close in overall time and entering the final test, the Husaberg pilot trailed Mullins by six seconds. Mullins remained focused and put in a strong final test, extending the gap slightly to finish 11 seconds ahead of Lafferty.

“I thought I threw it away in the first test of the day,” said Mullins. “I fell three times and I over-shot two corners, which wasn’t a good start to the event. We changed the front tire before the second test and I kind of settled down and got back into a groove.”

Fahringer nabbed the final step on the podium with a slim three-second advantage over AmPro Yamaha’s Jesse Groemm, thanks to a strong performance in the final test.

“I never really felt comfortable today,” said Fahringer. “I just wasn’t feeling that fire until the last two sections. I think I was trying too hard to be smooth at the cost of any kind of aggression. I knew I was behind Jesse at the end and I stepped it up in the final two tests and just barely squeaked by.”

KTM’s Grant Baylor scored fifth followed by Obermeyer Yamaha’s Brad Bakken in sixth. KTM rider Ian Blythe took seventh followed by Shenandoah Honda’s Thad DuVall in eighth while Mike Lafferty’s nephew, Ryder Lafferty, took ninth. Radiant AirGroup Racing’s Paddy Holloway rounded out the top-10.

Mullins remains the overall leader in the series, sitting 36 points ahead of Fahringer in second. Michael Lafferty is third followed by Russell Bobbitt in fourth and Baylor in fifth.

Foggy Mountain National Enduro Results 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins (KTM)
2. Michael Lafferty (Husaberg)
3. Nick Fahringer (Husaberg)
4. Jesse Groemm (Yamaha)
5. Grant Baylor (KTM)
6. Brad Bakken (Yamaha)
7. Ian Blythe (KTM)
8. Thad DuVall (Honda)
9. Ryder Lafferty (Husaberg)
10. Paddy Holloway (KTM)
11. Kyle McDonal (Husaberg)
12. Richard Lafferty (KTM)
13. Jeff Melik (Gas Gas)
14. Nick Davis (Husqvarna)
15. Russell Bobbitt (Husaberg)

National Enduro Points 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins, 190
2. Nick Fahringer, 154
3. Michael Lafferty, 133
4. Russell Bobbitt, 116
5. Grant Baylor, 105
6. Brad Bakken, 103
7. Jesse Groemm, 93
8. Ian Blythe, 90
9. Andrew DeLong, 89
10. Kyle McDonal, 58

Facebook comments