High Point 250 Motocross Results 2013

June 8, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Ken Roczen in 250 class action at Muddy Creek.
Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen ran a lonely race out front to take the 250 Moto 1 win at High Point.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen led every lap of 250 Moto 1 at High Point for the win, rocketing up from outside the top-eight in the opening turns to take the lead before the end of the first lap. Roczen’s teammate, Marvin Musquin, grabbed the runner-up spot followed by GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac in third.

Riders were bunched-up out front on the opening lap and it was Tomac’s teammate Zach Osborne and Troy Lee Designs’ Cole Seely in close combat for the lead, but Roczen made quick work of the field and within the opening turns had made up a number of positions to settle into third. He passed both riders in one sweep for the lead and was uncatchable for the rest of the race. Musqin was in the mix as well and by the end of the first lap had settled into third-place behind Seely.

Tomac’s teammate Justin Bogle was fourth through the opening laps battling with Osborne, who had slipped to fifth, and both riders moved up in position when Seely had his first mistake of the day. Seely went down briefly and fell back to eighth on Lap 4 at which point Osborne jumped ahead of Bogle to run in third for two laps. Tomac was mounting a charge though and by Lap 6 had moved past Osborne into podium position. Osborne tried to hang on, but his day went downhill midrace as he lost pace with the lead pack, slipping back to finish 10th.

Rockstar Suzuki’s Jason Anderson also had a difficult day after running in sixth through the opening laps. The Suzuki rider made contact with Osborne mid-race and went down, dropping well outside the top-10. Seely also hit the dirt soon after, his second off of the day, taking a big spill that left him out of competition.

Out front, Roczen coasted to the win while Tomac gave everything he had to catch Musquin. During the final laps Tomac had caught sight of the French rider and was cutting seconds off the gap to second-place, but Musquin showed some aggression late in the contest, turning one of his best lap times on the penultimate rotation.

Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett powered through the ranks to finish fourth, followed by Bogle in fifth. Pro motocross rookie Cooper Webb of Star Racing put in a notable performance to take sixth, getting ahead of MyPlash’s Kyle Cunningham, who finished seventh. Baggett’s teammate, Darryn Durham, took eighth while Cunningham’s teammate, Jeremy Martin, grabbed ninth with a late race pass by Osborne.

Musquin  25  shot out to take the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 2 and maintained the lead all the way to the checkers.
Musquin (25) shot out to take the Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot in Moto 2 and maintained the lead all the way to the checkers.
Marvin Musquin celebrates his first professional moto win in the United States after his victory in Moto 2 at High Point.
Marvin Musquin celebrates his first professional moto win in the United States after his victory in Moto 2 at High Point.

Musquin grabbed the first moto win of his career in the U.S. in Moto 2 at High Point, keeping ahead of Roczen through the latter half of competition while dodging lapped riders and managing deep ruts. Osborne maintained a steady pace to finish on the podium in third.

Musquin was quick off the start, taking the Motorcycle-Superstore Holeshot and keeping ahead of Osborne, who applied plenty of pressure from second-place in the opening minutes after passing Martin for position. While the Honda rider was challenging for the lead, Roczen was battling with Martin and Orange Brigade’s Joey Savatgy for third-place. The three riders were in tight quarters during the first laps but Roczen’s pace proved too quick for the two rookies and soon the German rider was up to third looking to cut the gap on Osborne.

Musquin successfully defended against Osborne and by mid-race Roczen was right on the Honda rider’s rear tire. Once Roczen found a line he proceeded to push ahead in an effort to catch Musquin and the two battled as they weaved around backmarkers through the second half of competition. Roczen got right on Musquin’s rear tire at times, but the French rider blocked passing lines well and benefited more than once from a lapped rider failing to move out of the race line quick enough. The two continued to post flying laps until the checkers, but in the end Musquin maintained a two second advantage for the moto win and overall victory.

Tomac ended Moto 2 in fourth after mounting a heroic charge from outside the top-10. Early in the race the Honda ace couldn’t seem to make up ground after a bad start left him running in 11th, but during the last laps he found his championship pace and clawed back up the ranks. Savatgy fell back to fifth after Tomac’s late pass and Martin ended the moto in sixth. Anderson took seventh followed by Baggett in eighth and Bogle in ninth. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos rounded out the top-10.

Musqin scored his second consecutive overall victory and Roczen ended the round at High Point in second. Tomac made the overall podium in third thanks to his efforts in Moto 2. Osborne scored fourth overall followed by Baggett in fifth.

Roczen retains the overall points lead and sits 15 points ahead of Tomac in third. Musquin holds to third and is now 22 points adrift of the lead.

High Point 250 overall podium with Marvin Musquin  center  in first  Ken Roczen  right  in second and Eli Tomac  left  in third.
High Point 250 overall podium with Marvin Musquin (center) in first, Ken Roczen (right) in second and Eli Tomac (left) in third.

High Point 250 Motocross Results 2013:
1. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 2-1
2. Ken Roczen (KTM) 1-2
3. Eli Tomac (Honda) 3-4
4. Zach Osborne (Honda) 10-3
5. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 4-8
6. Justin Bogle (Honda) 5-9
7. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 9-6
8. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 6-11
9. Joey Savatgy (KTM) 13-5
10. Jason Anderson (Suzuki) 12-7
11. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha) 7-16
12. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki) 14-10
13. Justin Hill (Kawasaki) 11-13
14. Darryn Durham (Kawasaki) 8-34
15. Blake Wharton (Suzuki) 35-12

250 Motocross Championship Points 2013:
1. Ken Roczen, 185
2. Eli Tomac, 170
3. Marvin Musquin, 163
4. Blake Baggett, 141
5. Zach Osborne, 127
6. Jason Anderson, 100
7. Cooper Webb, 90
8. Justin Bogle, 89
9. Jeremy Martin, 88
10. Kyle Cunningham, 81

Facebook comments