Isle of Man Supersport 2 TT Results 2013

June 5, 2013
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Michael Dunlop continued his Isle of Man TT perfection, with the Northern Ireland rider taking his fourth consecutive victory in the Supersport 2 TT. Dunlop claimed the win in dramatic fashion, besting fellow Honda rider Bruce Anstey on the final lap with a record-breaking 128.667 mph circuit of the Mountain Course – as Dunlop beat his standing lap record by a full 28 seconds. Anstey’s HM Plant Honda by Padgett teammate, John McGuinness, completed the Supersport 2 podium, just edging out Dunlop’s brother, William, by less than two seconds.
Michael Dunlop went four for four with a record-breaking 128.667 mph final lap in the second Supersport TT at the 2013 Isle of Man.

Anstey led the first three laps of the four-lap Supersport TT. The New Zealand racer’s 125.476 mph opening lap put him nearly four seconds ahead of Dunlop on the timesheet, with William Dunlop holding third and McGuinness fourth – with eventual eighth-place finisher, Tyco Suzuki’s Guy Martin, rounding out the top five.

A 127.817-mph second lap extended Anstey’s advantage over the Dunlops, with Michael 4.474 seconds adrift and William trailing his younger sibling by a full 17 seconds. The two-man race up front widened somewhat, with Anstey nine seconds ahead after the lone fuel/pit stop, but Dunlop whittled away.

At the conclusion of the penultimate Lap 3, Dunlop had pared Anstey’s lead to four seconds. Meanwhile, McGuinness caught William Dunlop for third, the King of the Mountain leading the Yamaha pilot by a mere 0.652 seconds after three.

Michael Dunlop bore down on Anstey, taking the top position on the timing at Ballaugh Bridge. From there Dunlop pressed on to his seventh career TT victory, his sensational final lap giving delivering a 2.3-second cushion at the checkers.

The victory makes Dunlop only the third man in history to claim four TT wins in a single week, the others being Phillip McCallen in 1996 and Ian Hutchinson in 2010. Hutchinson went on to an unprecedented five-TT sweep that year, a feat which Dunlop could match with a victorious Senior TT performance on Friday.

2013 Isle of Man TT Supersport 2 Results:
1. Michael Dunlop (Honda) 125.997 mph
2. Bruce Anstey (Honda) 125.930 mph
3. John McGuinness (Honda) 124.731 mph
4. William Dunlop (Yamaha) 124.703 mph
5. Cameron Donald (Honda) 124.429 mph
6. James Hillier (Kawasaki) 123.712 mph
7. Dean Harrison (Yamaha) 123.086 mph
8. Guy Martin (Suzuki) 122.159 mph
9. Gary Johnson (MV Agusta) 122.139 mph
10. Conor Cummins (Yamaha) 121.249 mph

Michael Dunlop went four for four with a record-breaking 128.667 mph final lap in the second Supersport TT at the 2013 Isle of Man.

Facebook comments