Road America AMA DSB Race 1 Results 2013

June 1, 2013
Adam Waheed
By Adam Waheed
Road Test Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

His insatiable thirst for life is only surpassed by his monthly fuel bill. Whether rocketing on land, flying through the air, or jumping the seas, our Road Test Editor does it all and has the scars to prove it.

Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier made the most from pole position at Road America Saturday wining the first of two Daytona SportBike races over fellow R6 racers Jake Gagne and JD Beach. Beaubier decimated the competition during Friday qualifying and continued to impress Saturday leading all 13 laps of the race.

“Cameron took off today,” said second place, Gagne. “I made a few little mistakes, but we’ll go back and try to improve on that from tomorrow.”

Although he cleaned house in Wisconsin today, Beaubier was modest after notching his second victory of the season: “Jake kept me honest, but my bike has been awesome all weekend. It’s been awesome and I want to keep the ball rolling and stay focused.”

After swapping positions for much of the race, Beach was able to best Jake Lewis at the finish line by less than half a second. Both Beach and Gagne spent quite a bit of time during the winter months racing with Southern California’s new CVMA motorcycle racing club and their time spent competing against one another made for some close racing.

“We raced together a lot this winter,” Beach said. “I tried to show him who was boss, but it was a fun race.”

Garrett Gerloff rounded out the top-five ahead of Bobby Fong and James Rispoli. After missing the opening round at Daytona, Dane Westby was back behind the windscreen and recorded an eighth place result ahead of Jason DiSalvo and Elena Myers.

GoPro Daytona SportBike Race 1 Results:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. JD Beach (Yamaha)
4. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
5. Garrett Gerloff Yamaha
6. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
7. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
8. Dane Westby (Honda)
9. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
10. Elena Myers (Triumph)
11. Ben Young (Yamaha)
12. Benny Solis (Honda)
13. Joey Pascarella (Triumph)
14. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
15. Barrett Long (Ducati)
16. Fernando Amantini (Yamaha)
17. Melissa Paris (Honda)
18. Kyle Wyman (Triumph)
19. Scott Ryan (Yamaha)
20. Daniel Ortega (Yamaha)

Facebook comments