Road America SuperSport Race 1 Results 2013

June 1, 2013
Adam Waheed
By Adam Waheed
Road Test Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

His insatiable thirst for life is only surpassed by his monthly fuel bill. Whether rocketing on land, flying through the air, or jumping the seas, our Road Test Editor does it all and has the scars to prove it.

Corey Alexander took the win in SuperSport racing action from Road America. Alexander beat out pole sitter Stefano Mesa to the finish line. The two riders waged a serious battle for much of the 10-lap race with both riders taking turns at the front. Taking the final podium spot was veteran club racer and American Honda Product Planning Model Specialist Jeffrey Tigert.

“I wanted to get out front and see if they could stay with me,” Alexander revealed. “I thought Stefano would try me in Turn 5 the last time. He did and went a little wide. My team gave me a great bike. Stefano had a good clean race, and we had some passing and battling. I didn’t hear him beside me coming up the hill the last time.”

Although he didn’t make it to the top step of the podium this time around Mesa was still all smiles: “We had a good time racing; hats off to Corey. We had a good and clean race.”

Tigert held on to the lead duo for much of the race but as the race started to wind down his lap times fell off. Even still he was able to finish in excess of six seconds ahead of Tomas Puerta.

“These guys were riding really well,” said the weekend warrior who spends a good part of the work in front of a computer at Honda’s U.S. headquarters in Torrance, California. “I was happy to stick with them. I was happy to get on the box for the first time.”

Fifth place went to David Sodowski, Jr., son of the ‘90s-era AMA racer and one-time 1990 Daytona 200 winner. Ahead of him was local rider Ricardo Valdez and Brazil’s Sebastiao Ferreira. SuperSport Race 1 Results:
1. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
2. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
3. Jeffrey Tigert (Yamaha)
4. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
5. David Sadowski (Yamaha)
6. Ricardo Valdez (Yamaha)
7. Sebastiao Ferreira (Yamaha)
8. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
9. Miles Thorton (Yamaha)
10. Conner Blevins (Kawasaki)
11. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)
12. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
13. Travis Ohge (Suzuki)
14. Ryan Matter (Yamaha)
15. Charles Weaver (Yamaha)
16. Nicholas Hansen (Buell)
17. Caroline Olsen (Suzuki)
18. Andrew DiBrino (Yamaha)
19. Jordan Imrie (Honda)
20. Ronny Frias (Yamaha)

Facebook comments