The Mountaineer GNCC Results 2013

June 17, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Factory FMF/KTM’s Kaliub Russell secured his third race win of the 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series at the Mountaineer Run GNCC in West Virginia, beating second-placed ride Josh Strang by nearly four minutes. Current championship points leader and teammate to Russell, Charlie Mullins, rounded out the podium.

Conditions were rough thanks to substantial rain in the days leading up to competition making for a memorable round that saw AmPro Yamaha’s Paul Whibley grab another All Balls Racing XC1 Holeshot award. As Whibley duked it out at the head of the pack with his teammate, Jordan Ashburn, eventual front-runner Russell was recovering from a first turn fiasco that left both him and Mullins at the back of the field. Mullins managed to run wide and avoid crashing, but Russell made contact with another rider and was forced to pick himself up after the incident. The two charged hard through the first rotation, with Russell making it to the front by the end of the initial lap and Mullins settling into fourth.

Charlie Mullins took third-place at the Mountaineer GNCC and remained the overall points leader.
Charlie Mullins took third-place at the Mountaineer GNCC and remained the overall points leader.

Entering Lap 2, Russell held out ahead of Team Maxxis’ Rory Mead, Whibley, Mullins, Strang and Shenandoah Honda’s Thad DuVall. The riders remained in close quarters for a period, but running order changed when DuVall ran into a mechanical issue that forced him to pit for changes to his machine. He made it back into competition briefly, but the bike failed once again and he was forced to pull out from the race after two laps. Mead also faced trouble, ending his day after four laps.

Carolina KTM’s Chris Bach got into the mix as the race reached its mid-point and he tousled with Mullins and Strang for second-place. Bach moved into the runner-up position for a period but then lost time once the pack hit lapped riders, allowing Strang to slip into second-place. Mullins remained close to Strang in third, but was unable to make it past the Kawasaki rider before the checkers, finishing just ten seconds back after the three-hour competition. Bach ended the day in fourth.

Whibley held to fifth followed by Ashburn in sixth and Honda rider Takeshi Koikeda in seventh.

Mullins holds the lead through Round 8 with a slim five point advantage over Russell. Strang is now up to third-place overall, four points ahead of Bach in fourth. DuVall rounds out the top five in the XC1 series.

In XC2 Pro Lites action, DirtWise Schools Jason Thomas took his first win of the year. KTM’s Grant Baylor fought through the pack to finish second followed by Morgantown Powersports’ Layne Michael posting his best result so far this year in third.

Thomas gained the front after the opening laps and never looked back. Michael, KTM rider Billy Shoeneberg and Pennsylvania native Michael McGinnis each took turns at the head of the pack through the first two laps, but none could hold off the hard-charging Thomas.

Baylor, meanwhile, was recovering from an early pile-up that left him back in the field. By mid-race Baylor moved into podium position and eventually got the best of Michael, beating the West Virginia rider by nearly one minute at the checkers.

Kawasaki’s Scott Grills took fourth followed by Husqvarna’s Chris Douglas in fifth.

In the Women’s class, KTM’s Maria Forsberg earned her fifth win of the year and moved to a mathematical tie for the overall lead with her teammate, Kacy Martinez. Martinez finished the Mountaineer GNCC in second-place, followed by another KTM pilot, Mandi Mastin, in third.

XC1 Pro GNCC Points 2013:
1. Charlie Mullins, 205
2. Kaliub Russell, 200
3. Josh Strang, 144
4. Chris Bach, 140
5. Thad DuVall, 136
6. Paul Whibley, 127
7. Jordan Ashburn, 113
8. Takeshi Koikeda, 101
9. Adam Bonneur, 98
10. Ricky Russell, 93

XC1 Pro Mountaineer GNCC Results 2013:
1. Kaliub Russell (KTM)
2. Josh Strang (Kawasaki)
3. Charlie Mullins (KTM)
4. Chris Bach (KTM)
5. Paul Whibley (Yamaha)
6. Jordan Ashburn (Yamaha)
7. Takeshi Koikeda (Honda)
8. Adam Bonneur (Kawasaki)
9. Mark Fortner (Beta)
10. Rory Mead (KTM)

XC2 Pro Lites GNCC Points 2013:
1. Grant Baylor, 179
2. Jason Thomas, 165
3. Andrew DeLong, 121
4. Zach Nolan, 96
5. Shane Hufford Jr., 94
6. Jedediah Haines, 88
7. AJ Stewart, 88
8. Travis Coy, 82
9. Michael McGinnis, 76
10. Layne Michael, 76

XC2 Pro Lites Mountaineer GNCC Results 2013:
1. Jason Thomas (KTM)
2. Grant Baylor (KTM)
3. Layne Michael (KTM)
4. Scott Grills (Kawasaki)
5. Chris Douglas (Husqvarna)
6. Ian Blythe (KTM)
7. AJ Stewart (Yamaha)
8. Samuel Evans (KTM)
9. Travis Coy (KTM)
10. Jesse Groemm (Yamaha)

Women’s GNCC Points 2013:
1. Maria Forsberg, 134
2. Kacy Martinez, 134
3. Mandi Mastin, 126
4. Becca Sheets, 123
5. Jessica Patterson, 97
6. Hannah Otto, 94
7. Karlynn Beam, 79
8. Brooke Cosner, 76
9. Allie Spurgeon, 74
10. Rachel Gutish, 70

Women’s Mountaineer GNCC Results 2013:
1. Maria Forsberg (KTM)
2. Kacy Martinez (KTM)
3. Mandi Mastin (KTM)
4. Becca Sheets (Yamaha)
5. Brooke Cosner (Honda)
6. Allie Spurgeon (KTM)
7. Heather Cosner (Yamaha)
8. Megan Luketich (KTM)
9. Dawn Silvia (KTM)
10. Sarah Baldwin (KTM)

Facebook comments