World Superbike Imola Results 2013

June 30, 2013
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Tom Sykes scored the ninth and tenth wins of his World Superbike career with a double-victory performance at Imola. The Kawasaki rider now moves into the SBK points lead thanks to the 1-1 result. The Englishman’s consistency at Imola contrasts his title rivals, with both Aprilia factory riders Sylvain Guintoli and Eugene Laverty each earning a DNF to go with a third-place podium. Davide Giugliano and Jonathan Rea also nabbed second-place finishes on the day, to match DNF’s.


Race 1

The first SBK race saw Sykes work up through the ranks to take the lead. The KRT rider and Giugliano separated from the field in the latter half of the contest, with the Althea Racing Aprilia man unable to keep pace with the ZX-10R pilot. Giugliano paraded to the finish unchallenged for second-place – his first SBK podium on the season.

Factory Aprilia’s Laverty fended off former Yamaha teammate, Marco Melandri for third-place – the BMW rider placing fourth. Another RSV4 rider, Michel Fabrizio, rounds out the top five aboard his Red Devil’s Aprilia mount – one spot ahead of BMW’s Chaz Davies.

Race 1 was a reversal of fortune in the title hunt between Sykes and Guintoli, as the Frenchman gave up the lion’s share of his 28-point cushion by retiring from the contest on Lap 6. Aprilia PR explains Guintoli’s DNF “was forced by a technical problem with the engine.”

Another prominent DNF was Honda’s Rea, who crashed out in a battle for fourth and a possible podium. The Northern Irish racer started well but ran off-track on the first lap and fought back from outside the top 10 before his crash.

Imola Race 1 podium: Davide Giugliano second  Tom Sykes first  Eugene Laverty third.
Imola Race 1 podium: Davide Giugliano second, Tom Sykes first, Eugene Laverty third.

World Superbike Imola Race 1 Results:
1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki)
2. Davide Giugliano (Aprilia)
3. Eugen Laverty (Aprilia)
4. Marco Melandri (BMW)
5. Michel Fabrizio (Aprilia)
6. Chaz Davies (BMW)
7. Leon Camier (Suzuki)
8. Ayrton Badovini (Ducati)
9. Loris Baz (Kawasaki)
10. Leon Haslam (Honda)

Race 2


Sykes didn’t have to work quite so hard in the second race. The polesetter led every lap of the race and cruised to the checkers unchallenged. Rea and Guintoli recovered from their Race 1 disappointments to claim second and third respectively.

Melandri once again finished fourth, leading his teammate Davies. As for the Race 1 podium finishers behind Sykes, Giugliano and Laverty, both crashed to earn an ignoble DNF.

The Race 2 win gives Sykes a six point lead in the points ahead of Guintoli. Laverty’s Race 2 DNF, crashing on Lap 6 trying to keep pace with the podium runners, is a distant third – 45 behind Sykes.

Said Sykes after his 1-1 weekend at Imola: “I have had two perfect weekends out of the last three events and for this I am truly happy. I enjoy this circuit so we have made the most of it. A perfect weekend so it could not have been any better. It is a special weekend for many reasons and also the incident last year with my 2012 team-mate Joan Lascorz. There was not one time on any lap when I have exited turn six and not thought about his accident. We are all thinking of Joan and I hope that this is a small, small tribute to him. Both the ZX-10R and myself have been working well. I have every single individual member of the Kawasaki staff and teams to thank, and our great technical sponsors. Without their help I would not be able to showcase myself so I truly am grateful. Hopefully now this is a beginning of a challenge but we will see how we go.”

World Superbike Imola Race 2 Results:

Tom Sykes piloted the ZX-10R to a double-victory performance at Imola.
Tom Sykes piloted the ZX-10R to a double-victory performance at Imola – taking the points lead in the process.

1. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki)
2. Jonathan Rea (Honda)
3. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia)
4. Marco Melandri (BMW)
5. Chaz Davies (BMW)
6. Loris Baz (Kawasaki)
7. Leon Camier (Suzuki)
8. Michel Fabrizio (Aprilia)
9. Leon Haslam (Honda)
10. Ayrton Badovini (Ducati)

2013 World SBK Championship Points Standings:
1. Tom Sykes, 235
2. Sylvain Guintoli, 229
3. Eugene Laverty, 190
4. Marco Melandri, 182
5. Chaz Davies, 154
6. Loris Baz, 136
7. Jonathan Rea, 125
8. Michel Fabrizio, 120
9. Davide Giugliano, 99
10. Leon Camier, 80