AMA SuperBike Laguna Seca Qualifying 2013

July 20, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Hayes beat out rival Roger Hayden of National Guard Jordan Suzuki for AMA Pro SuperBike pole position at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Hayes’ teammate, Josh Herrin, finished third-fastest followed by Yoshimura Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas in fourth.

Hayes beat out Hayden by 0.290 seconds at the end of his 18-lap session, setting the stage for another strong showing in AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike. Hayden bested Hayes during the initial practice on Friday, but Hayes hit back with a lap nearly one second faster on Saturday. Hayes commented after Friday’s session that “For some reason, the first session is always tough for me here at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, and I seem to ride a little tight in the beginning.” He appears to have found a competitive pace and will be the man to beat during Sunday’s single race.

Following Saturday’s qualifying Hayes revealed, “we wanted to make sure we got it, so we threw two tires at it — we don’t always go that route. We went out on a used tire from a the first session, rode five or six laps, came in and got a new tire, did five or six laps and improved. We came and got another fresh tire and got in another good, solid set of laps.”

Pegram Racing’s Larry Pegram posted the fifth-fastest time followed by KTM/HMC Racing’s Taylor Knapp in sixth and’s Cory West in seventh.

AMA Pro SuperBike Qualifying Results 2013:
1. Josh Hayes (Yamaha) 1’24.507
2. Roger Hayden (Suzuki) 1’24.797
3. Josh Herrin (Yamaha) 1’25.225
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki) 1’25.369
5. Larry Pegram (Yamaha) 1’26.223
6. Taylor Knapp (KTM) 1’26.274
7. Cory West (EBR) 1’26.683
8. Robertino Pietri (Kawasaki) 1’26.822
9. Aaron Yates (EBR) 1’26.885
10. Danny Eslick (Suzuki) 1’26.994

Facebook comments