MCSS Holeshot Recap: Washougal 2013

July 22, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Ryan Dungey the Moto 1 holeshot at Washougal.
Justin Bogle scored points in the 250 class Holeshot Championship  crossing the white line fastest in Moto 1 at Washougal.
Ryan Dungey (above) and Justin Bogle (below) each scored the Moto 1 holeshots in their respective classes.

Four riders added to their points totals in the 2013 Holeshot Championship at Washougal MX Park. In the 450 class it was Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey who came across the white line first in Moto 1, followed by JGRMX’s Josh Grant in Moto 2. In the 250 ranks, GEICO Honda riders dominated, with Justin Bogle scoring the holeshot in Moto 1 and Wil Hahn taking the honor in Moto 2.

Dungey’s quick start proved critical for his eventual win. The KTM rider pushed hard to open a slight gap on the field during the initial laps while current points leader Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki fought to recover from fourth-place. Once RV got into second the race was more than half over and Dungey had put multiple seconds between himself and the field. The distance proved too great, and though RV came within sight of the KTM rider, he was unable to challenge for the lead before the checkers.

“The key to winning the first moto was definitely getting the holeshot at the start,” Dungey said. “I was happy to get the KTM’s power to the ground and have it stick. It felt good to get out front, and it helped me a bunch because I had clear track in front of me.”

Grant’s holeshot came by mere inches and he quickly fell back in the pack as he dealt with mechanical issues throughout the race.

“I wanted that holeshot,” Grant said. “That’s where my focus was the entire time. I’m glad I kept it pinned, pushed hard, got to the front, and stayed there. I’ve been working my butt off to get better and I know the guys are putting in long hours. My thanks to them, for sure, and also to for putting this prize money out there. It definitely adds to the excitement.

“My natural style is to be aggressive like that. I wish the moto had gone a little better, but I lost my rear brake and was struggling after that. I was losing it on the downhill sections, so I had to throttle back a little to keep from crashing.”
Dungey now sits fifth in the Holeshot Championship with three total points, while Grant is third with five, just two adrift of leaders Justin Barcia and James Stewart.

Bogle was passed by his teammate, Eli Tomac, soon after taking the 250 Moto 1 holeshot, but he held strong in second-place for much of the race. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen got the best of Bogle during the final laps, relegating the Honda rider to fourth, but the race was a positive experience for Bogle overall, even though he fell short of the podium.

“At this point, shooting for the holeshot for me is more about getting out in front and being in a good position to try to get on the podium,” said Bogle. “It’s not for winning that money at the end of the year, but I think it’s awesome Motorcycle Superstore does that for us.

“That was probably the best start I’ve ever had. It was my second holeshot of the season and it felt good to get it done. I feel like it helped me pick up my riding throughout the entire moto. I ended up fourth, so I was pretty happy with that finish.”

Hahn, who missed the first four races of the year, leads the 250 Holeshot Championship. He further distanced himself from the field with his fast start in Moto 2, his fifth holeshot of the season so far, though he fell outside the top-10 by the end of the race.

“I’m pretty proud to be leading the holeshot deal because I missed the first four races of the year, so I’m not in the regular championship chase,” Hahn said. “This is it for me. To be in the lead after running only half the races is pretty special.”

The Holeshot Championship awards one point to the Moto 1 holeshot winner and two points to the rider who starts fastest in Moto 2. When a rider grabs holeshots in both motos, they are awarded a bonus point, giving competitors the chance to take home four total points every round. At the end of the year, the highest points earner in the 250 class will take home $15,000 and in the 450 class the prize is $25,000. Holeshot Championship Points 2013:

450 Class

1t. Justin Barcia, 7
1t. James Stewart, 7
3. Josh Grant, 5
4. Mike Alessi, 4
5. Ryan Dungey, 3
6. Ryan Villopoto, 1

250 Class
1. Wil Hahn, 8
2. Zach Osborne, 4
3t. Zach Bell, 2
3t. Justin Bogle, 2
3t. Jeremy Martin, 2
3t. Marvin Musquin, 2
3t. Ken Roczen, 2
3t. Eli Tomac, 2
9. Blake Baggett, 1