Mid-Ohio SportBike Race 2 Results 2013

July 14, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier took his fourth consecutive win, his sixth of the year, in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Race 2 at Mid-Ohio. The Y.E.S. rider beat RoadRace Factory’s JD Beach by six-tenths of a second at the checkers. Beach’s teammate, Jake Gagne, rounded out the podium.

The contest was delayed at the start due to oil on the track and was reduced to 15 laps once the debris had been cleaned. Beach was quick off the start, gaining the lead in the first corners and holding there though the first five laps. Beaubier was back in fourth-place after the start in a tightly bunched lead pack, and he started to make his move up the ranks on Lap 3. He gained one position on each successive lap, making each pass at Turn 6 until gaining the lead on Lap 6. Beach remained on Beaubier’s rear tire through the remaining laps but couldn’t find a way past the current points leader.

Beaubier’s teammate, Garrett Gerloff, finished in fourth-place followed by National Guard/Celtic Racing’s James Rispoli in fifth. Meen Motorsports’ Jake Lewis finished in sixth, with GEICO Motorcycle’s Dane Westby trailing in seventh and Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo in eighth.

Beaubier continues to dominate the SportBike points tally, now 45 points ahead of Gagne in second. Beach is third overall followed by Gerloff in fourth and Rispoli in fifth.

Mid-Ohio Daytona SportBike Race 2 Results 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. JD Beach (Yamaha)
3. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
4. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
5. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
6. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
7. Dane Westby (Honda)
8. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
9. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
10. Benny Solis (Honda)
11. Joey Pascarella (Triumph)
12. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)
13. Fernando Amantini (Yamaha)
14. Eric Stump (Yamaha)
15. Elena Myers (Triumph)

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Points 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier, 215
2. Jake Gagne, 170
3. JD Beach, 138
4. Garrett Gerloff, 124
5. James Rispoli, 101
6. Jake Lewis, 96
7. Dane Westby, 91
8. Jason DiSalvo, 72
9. Bobby Fong, 68
10. Benny Solis, 63

Facebook comments