Mid-Ohio SuperSport Race 1 Results 2013

July 13, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Tomas Puerta took the Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport win in Race 1 at Mid-Ohio.
Tomas Puerta took the Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport win in Race 1 at Mid-Ohio.

RoadRace Factory’s Tomas Puerta took the Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport Race 1 win at Mid-Ohio, commanding the latter half of the race ahead of Team 95’s Hayden Gillim, who finished over three seconds behind in the runner-up spot. CTR Racing’s Miles Thornton rounded out the podium.

Puerta was quick to the front, gaining the lead after Lap 1 and holding there through the opening laps as Gillim, Thornton, Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman and Motosport.com’s Stefano Mesa bunched-up behind. The five riders made up a tight lead pack, swapping positions a number of times through the first half of the race. Wyman found a way past Puerta for the lead with 10 laps remaining, but a few laps later Puerta answered back. Once the Colombian rider regained the lead, he was able to maintain his advantage to the checkers.

Gillim, Wyman, Mesa and Thornton continued to tousle in the battle for second until the final laps. Mesa ran into trouble on the penultimate lap and crashed out of competition. Gillim settled into second and Thornton held to third, besting Wyman by six-tenths of a second at the checkers.

TOBC Racing’s Nick McFadden slipped through the field to finish in fifth followed by Jon Block Group Sports’ Wyatt Farris in sixth.

Mesa’s misfortunate end to Race 1 allowed Alexander to move into the overall Eastern division points lead. Gillim remains third and Thornton holds to fourth.

Mid-Ohio SuperSport Race 1 Results 2013:
1. Tomas Puerta (Yamaha)
2. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
3. Miles Thornton (Yamaha)
4. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
5. Nick McFadden (Suzuki)
6. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)
7. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
8. Conner Blevins (Kawasaki)
9. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yamaha)
10. Erick Sanchez (Yamaha)
11. Frank Babuska (Suzuki)
12. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
13. Curtis Murray (Suzuki)
14. Brandon Cleland (Triumph)
15. Jeremy Simmons (Yamaha)

AMA SuperSport East Championship Points 2013:
1. Corey Alexander, 133
2. Stefano Mesa, 121
3. Hayden Gillim, 111
4. Miles Thornton, 89
5. Travis Wyman, 84
6. Conner Blevins, 66
7. Nick McFadden, 37
8. Devon McDonough, 37
9. Mark Miller Jr., 33
10. Kaleb De Keyrel, 26

Facebook comments