Mid-Ohio SuperSport Race 2 Results 2013

July 14, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Team 95’s Hayden Gillim earned his first AMA Pro Motorcycle-Superstore.com SuperSport win of the season in Race 2 at Mid-Ohio. Gillim outpaced Harv’s Harley-Davidson’s Travis Wyman by one tenth of a second at the checkers and CTR Racing’s Miles Thornton rounded out the podium.

Race 1 winner Tomas Puerta of RoadRace Factory came out quick off the start, leading the opening laps ahead of Gillim and Wyman but, on Lap 3 Gillim got past the Colombian rider for the front. Puerta held to second-place for a few more laps but ran into trouble on Lap 5, dropping well outside the top-10 and then exiting the race. Out front, Wyman, Gillim and Thornton went back-and-forth in the lead pack and joined mid-race by Motosport.com’s Stefano Mesa as well.

Wyman had the win in reach, leading the way into the final lap, but Gillim was right on his rear tire and made a move on the Suzuki in time to take the checkers. Thornton held steady in third, defending against National Guard’s Corey Alexander, who finished fourth. Alexander pushed past Mesa in the final stages of competition, leaving the Yamaha rider in fifth. TOBC Racing’s Nick McFadden took sixth followed by Ajax Kawasaki’s Conner Blevins in seventh. Motorcycle-Superstore.com’s Devon McDonough earned his first top-10 finish of the year in eighth.

Alexander holds the points lead ahead of Gillim, who sits nine points back in second. Mesa is down to third overall, followed by Thornton in fourth and Wyman in fifth.

Mid-Ohio SuperSport Race 2 Results 2013:
1. Hayden Gillim (Yamaha)
2. Travis Wyman (Suzuki)
3. Miles Thornton (Yamaha)
4. Corey Alexander (Suzuki)
5. Stefano Mesa (Yamaha)
6. Nick McFadden (Suzuki)
7. Conner Blevins (Kawasaki)
8. Devon McDonough (Yamaha)
9. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yamaha)
10. Brandon Cleland (Triumph)
11. Wyatt Farris (Yamaha)
12. Curtis Murray (Suzuki)
13. Max Flinders (Yamaha)
14. Jeremy Simmons (Yamaha)
15. Cody Wyman (Suzuki)

AMA Pro SuperSport East Points 2013:
1. Corey Alexander, 151
2. Hayden Gillim, 142
3. Stefano Mesa, 137
4. Miles Thornton, 110
5. Travis Wyman, 109
6. Conner Blevins, 80
7. Nick McFadden, 52
8. Devon McDonough, 50
9. Kaleb De Keyrel, 38
10. Mark Miller Jr., 33

Facebook comments