Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results 2013

July 27, 2013
Bart Madson
By Bart Madson
Editor|Articles|Articles RSS|Blog|Blog Posts|Blog RSS

Bashing away at the MotoUSA keyboard for nine years now, Madson lends his scribbling and editorial input on everything from bike reviews to industry analysis and motorcycle racing reports.

Eli Tomac extended his points lead in the 250 Motocross ranks, with the Honda rider claiming a perfect 1-1 sweep at Spring Creek. KTM’s Marvin Musquin finished off both moto podiums, with a 4-4 result, but claimed second in the overall. Suzuki rider Jason Anderson collected third overall via his 3-5 result. Tomac’s nearest rival in the points, KTM’s Ken Roczen, suffered a severe setback earning a Moto 1 DNF but rebounding to a second-place finish in Moto 2.

Moto 1

Wil Hahn  19  took the 250 Moto 1 holeshot at Spring Creek  but Jeremy Martin  77  quickly gained the lead. Martin would hold the front until the latter stages of the race before Tomac passed for the win.
Wil Hahn (19) took the 250 Moto 1 holeshot at Spring Creek, but Jeremy Martin (77) quickly gained the lead. Martin would hold the front until the latter stages of the race before Tomac passed for the win.
Ken Roczen had a big crash in 250 Moto 1 at Spring Creek  forcing him to sit out until Moto 2.
Ken Roczen had a big crash in 250 Moto 1 at Spring Creek, forcing him to sit out until Moto 2.

Tomac’s teammate, Wil Hahn, continued to dominate off the start line, earning the Moto 1 Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot. He was able remain out front for the first five laps before losing a number of positions mid-race. Local rider and 250 class rookie Jeremy Martin of MyPlash took over the front once Hahn dropped back and held steady there until the latter stages of the moto. Tomac spent the early laps making up ground after a mediocre start but eventually made his way up the ranks to challenge Martin for the lead. The current 250 class points leader spent the final six laps out front, building a gap on the field to over eight seconds at the checkers.

Title contender Roczen was strong through the opening turns but had a big crash early in the moto which forced him to pull out of competition. Martin ended in second-place followed by Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson in Third. Musquin spent a number of laps in podium range, but fell short in the battle with Anderson and finished fourth. Tomac’s teammate, Justin Bogle, rounded out the top-five in Moto 1.

Moto 2

Hahn pushed across the white line for another Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot in Moto 2, earning him the total four points available for the round. Unlike Moto 1, however, Hahn’s tenure in the lead only lasted through the first lap. Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett powered past Hahn for the lead, where he held for the initial stages of competition, but Roczen was looking for redemption after his Moto 1 disaster and soon made his way to the front. The KTM rider was unable to maintain the lead for long though, because Tomac was again charging back after a bad start and was on Roczen’s rear tire mid-race. The Honda ace wasted little time finding his way past Roczen, and once out front he was unstoppable.

Roczen crossed the finish line 13 seconds behind Tomac for second-place, followed by Baggett in third. Musquin took fourth ahead of Anderson, who finished fifth.

When Tomac arrived in Millville, he trailed Rozen by a single point in second-place overall. Now Tomac has a 27 point advantage over the German rider. Roczen is a comfortable 44 points ahead of third-placed rider Musquin while defending 250 Nationals champion Baggett sits fourth, 110 adrift of the leader.

“It was an all-round awesome day,” Tomac said. “The starts weren’t there, but the rest of it was there for me for sure. The track at my home is a lot like this one, so I think that was a big key today. I tried to make my passes early just so I could get it done. I’ve been on the podium every race this season, and I really want to stay up there.”

2013 Spring Creek 250 Motocross Results:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda) 1-1
2. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 4-4
3. Jason Anderson (Suzuki) 3-5
4. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 2-7
5. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 6-3
6. Justin Bogle (Honda) 5-6
7. Wil Hahn (Honda) 8-8
8. Justin Hill (Kawasaki) 7-11
9. Ken Roczen (KTM) DNF-2
10. Zach Osborne (Honda) 11-9

250 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Eli Tomac, 405
2. Ken Roczen, 378
3. Marvin Musquin, 334
4. Blake Baggett, 295
5. Zach Osborne, 261
6. Jason Anderson, 238
7. Justin Bogle, 209
8. Jeremy Martin, 207
9. Kyle Cunningham, 183
10. Cooper Webb, 170