AMA Flat Track Castle Rock TT Results 2013

August 4, 2013

By Byron Wilson

AMA Pro Flat Track presented by J&P Cycles stopped in Castle Rock, Washington for Round 6 of the 2013 season. Mack Daddy Racing’s Jeffrey Carver Jr. put in a memorable performance in the Expert Singles class, earning his first ever Grand National Expert victory ahead of Montgomeryville Cycle’s Jared Mees. Stevie Bonsey of Zanotti Racing rounded out the podium.

Mees and Carver ran out front from the start, with Mees gaining the early advantage. Carver, who started the race from pole position, needed just half a lap to oust Mees from the lead position. Mees lost ground to Rod Lake Racing’s Briar Bauman as well, settling into third-place. Bauman gave Carver a run for his money through the first 16 laps, but then crashed his CRF450R and had to pull out of competition. Mees moved into second thanks to Bauman’s incident, and Bonsey benefitted as well, taking over third. Carver was untouchable though, leading every lap of the competition for the win.

“I’m feeling awesome right about now,” said Carver. “To come out here and get my first national is just an unbelievable achievement for me, my team and my family. Those are really the people I need to thank the most. I wouldn’t be nearly the rider that I am without my team backing me. I have to thank my parents for getting me this far. I even have to thank myself for sticking with it after times got tough.”

Don’s Kawasaki’s Henry Wiles came across the finish in fourth nearly two seconds ahead of fifth-place finisher Brad Baker of Specialty Fabrication. Crosley Radio’s Bryan Smith finished sixth and Scott Baker of The Brothers Powersports took seventh.

Baker remains the overall points leader in the GNC Combined standings. Smith moved into second place and Wiles jumped from fifth to third.

AMA Expert Singles Castle Rock TT Results 2013:
1. Jeffrey Carver Jr. (Honda)
2. Jared Mees (Honda)
3. Stevie Bonsey (Honda)
4. Henry Wiles (Honda)
5. Brad Baker (Honda)
6. Bryan Smith (Honda)
7. Scott Baker (Honda)
8. Sammy Halbert (Yamaha)
9. Kenny Coolbeth Jr. (Kawasaki)
10. Michael Martin (Honda)
11. Danny Casey (Honda)
12. Kayl Kolkman (Kawasaki)
13. Scooter Vernon (Honda)
14. Robert Pearson (Honda)
15. Doug Lawrence (Honda)

J&P Cycles Pro Singles’s Dominic Colindres took home his first J&P Cycles Pro Singles win of the year at Castle Rock, beating Rod Lake’s Bronson Bauman by over two and a half seconds at the checkers. Stockton Moto’s Ryan Kearns rounded out the podium.

Colindres put in a commanding performance, starting from pole and gaining the early lead, which he’d hold for all 16 laps of the race.

“The track was completely different than last year,” said Colindres. “It really suited my riding style and the win came at a critical time for me. I’m really looking forward to the rest of the races now and this victory will certainly give me a huge boost of confidence. This win was for my mom and dad, the two people who have always been there for me and I can’t thank them enough.”

Bauman was similarly steady in second, holding position for the full length of the contest. Kearns, however, weaved his way through the pack from ninth-place (his position after Lap 1) to claim third on the final rotation. Ride Motorsports’ Jacob Lehmann finished fourth followed by GP Sports’ Rodney Spencer Jr. in fifth.

Kirkland Racing’s Wyatt Maguire, sixth-place finisher at Castle Rock, retains the overall Pro Singles points lead followed by Waters Auto Body’s Ryan Wells in second. Kyle Johnson remains third and Colindres jumps from ninth to fourth thanks to his win in Washington.

AMA Pro Singles Castle Rock TT Results 2013:
1. Dominic Colindres (Honda)
2. Bronson Bauman (Honda)
3. Ryan Kearns (Honda)
4. Jacob Lehmann (Honda)
5. Rodney Spencer Jr. (Honda)
6. Wyatt Maguire (Yamaha)
7. Cole Anderson (Honda)
8. Mikeal Strable (Honda)
9. Cole Frederickson (Honda)
10. Ryan Wells (Honda)
11. Gerit Callies (KTM)
12. Ryan Foster (Honda)
13. Cole Crowley (Honda)
14. Hunter Taylor (Honda)
15. Daniel Lowther (Honda)

Facebook comments