AMA SportBike Miller Race 1 Results 2013

August 3, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier topped an all-Yamaha podium in AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Race 1 at Miller Motorsports Park. Beaubier’s teammate, Garrett Gerloff, finished second followed by RoadRace Factory’s JD Beach in third.

Beaubier started the day off earning pole position in the morning qualifying session. Similar to his start in the previous round at Laguna Seca, the Yamaha ace dropped back to fourth-place after the first lap of the afternoon race, slotting in behind Gerloff, Beach and Meen Motorsports’ Jake Lewis. The lead pack remained tight and Beaubier waited just a few laps before picking-off Lewis for third. Two laps later Beaubier passed Beach for second, setting his sights on Gerloff and the lead.

Gerloff held strong though, keeping Beaubier to the runner-up position until Lap 9 when he finally powered past. Gerloff, in a move rarely seen during the latter portion of recent SportBike races, answered back, regaining the lead with four laps remaining in the contest. Beaubier maintained focus and passed again two laps later, but Gerloff proved to be a fierce competitor to the finish, setting the fastest lap time on his final rotation and ending just one-tenth of a second behind his teammate.

Beach remained close to the two Y.E.S. pilots, playing defense against Lewis who was nipping at his heels from fourth. Lewis ended the day in the number four spot, unable to find a line past Beach before the checkers. Beach’s teammate, Jake Gagne, rounded out the top-five.

New to the Riders Discount Triumph team, but well versed in AMA Pro competition, Jake Zemke finished 11th.
Beaubier now has six consecutive race wins to his credit, eight in total for the season, and he maintains the overall points lead. Gagne sits second, 71 points adrift of the leader and Gerloff holds to third.

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Miller Race 1 Results 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
3. JD Beach (Yamaha)
4. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
5. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
6. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
7. Dane Westby (Honda)
8. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
9. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
10. Fernando Amantini (Yamaha)
11. Jake Zemke (Triumph)
12. Ben Young (Yamaha)
13. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
14. Joey Pascarella (Triumph)
15. Elena Myers (Triumph)

AMA Pro SportBike Points 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier, 278
2. Jake Gagne, 207
3. Garrett Gerloff, 175
4. JD Beach, 175
5. Jake Lewis, 129
6. James Rispoli, 129
7. Dane Westby, 119
8. Jason DiSalvo, 102
9. Bobby Fong, 93
10. Benny Solis, 73

Facebook comments