AMA SportBike Miller Race 2 Results 2013

August 4, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Yamaha Extended Service’s Cameron Beaubier earned his seventh consecutive AMA Pro Daytona SportBike win in Race 2 at Miller Motorsports Park, coming across the line just a fraction of a second quicker than his teammate, Garrett Gerloff. RoadRace Factory’s JD Beach rounded out the podium.

Beaubier, Gerloff, Beach and Meen Motorsports’ Jake Lewis quickly moved to the head of the pack during Lap 1, and the four would remain in close quarters for the duration of the contest. Beaubier held the front through the first lap but Gerloff was ferocious, passing for the lead soon after. The two ran neck-and-neck for the bulk of the race, swapping position out front a number of times while fighting to keep ahead of Beach and Lewis. Beach briefly ran ahead of the Y.E.S riders to claim the lead during the latter stages, but both Gerloff and Beaubier were quick to retaliate and soon he was back down to third.

Gerloff held the front in the penultimate lap, but Beaubier passed for the lead entering the final rotation. The current points leader was able to defend against his teammate to the checkers, and he’s now matched with Martin Cardenas for the most race wins in a single season in the class.

Lewis ended the day in fourth-place followed by Beach’s teammate, Jake Gagne, in fifth. National Guard’s James Rispoli finished sixth with Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo trailing in seventh.

Beaubier has an 86 point advantage over Gagne, who sits second overall. Gerloff is third, four points ahead of Beach.
AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Miller Race 2 Results 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)
2. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
3. JD Beach (Yamaha)
4. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
5. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
6. James Rispoli (Suzuki)
7. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph)
8. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
9. Dane Westby (Honda)
10. Fernando Amantini (Yamaha)
11. Jake Zemke (Triumph)
12. Benny Solis (Honda)
13. Bryce Prince (Yamaha)
14. Ben Young (Yamaha)
15. Kenny Riedmann (Triumph)

AMA Daytona SportBike Points 2013:
1. Cameron Beaubier, 309
2. Jake Gagne, 223
3. Garrett Gerloff, 200
4. JD Beach, 196
5. Jake Lewis, 147
6. James Rispoli, 144
7. Dane Westby, 131
8. Jason DiSalvo, 116
9. Bobby Fong, 106
10. Benny Solis, 82

Facebook comments