AMA SuperBike Miller Race 1 Results 2013

August 3, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Herrin put forward his best performance yet this season in AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Race 1 at Miller Motorsports Park, earning his third race win of the year. National Guard Jordan Suzuki’s Roger Hayden also enjoyed a stellar performance, finishing in second-place 0.093 behind the leader. Herrin’s teammate, the often uncatchable Josh Hayes, rounded out the podium in third.

Hayes made the start from pole position into the early lead, but Herrin wasted no time in challenging his teammate, putting pressure on the Mississippi native through Lap 1. By the end of the first rotation Herrin had made his way to the front, where he would hold for 15 of 16 laps.

Herrin had to defend himself every step of the way, though, because Hayes remained well within striking distance of the lead through the first 10 laps. Hayden was similarly close, keeping on Hayes’ rear tire, waiting for his opportunity to pass.

Late in Lap 11 Hayes moved on Herrin for the lead, but Herrin gave his teammate no breathing room, keeping close and answering back during Lap 12. Hayes dropped to second-place briefly, because Hayden was coming up fast from third, getting a drive past the Yamaha ace on Lap 13.

Josh Hayes congratulates Josh Herrin on a race win well earned.
Hayes congratulates Josh Herrin on a race win well earned.

Hayes lost just enough ground to be outside drafting range upon entry to Turn 1 through the final laps, and could find no way to advance above third-place before the checkers. Herrin and Hayden, however, went head-to-head to the final seconds. Entering the last lap, Herrin dropped faultlessly into Turn 1, closing the door completely on any plans Hayden had to draft past. He maintained a smooth consistency through the remaining turns, going side-by-side with Hayden at times as the Suzuki ace pushed desperately for the front. The run to the finish line was close, but in the end it was Herrin’s day.

Behind the three-front runners, Yoshimura Suzuki’s Martin Cardenas ran a lonely race to finish fourth. The Colombian rider was in the lead-pack mix early on, but couldn’t keep up with the feverish pace, ending over 14 seconds behind Hayes at the checkers. Hayden’s teammate, Danny Eslick, came across the line in fifth followed by Pegram Racing’s Larry Pegram in sixth.

Hayes maintains the overall points lead, but the battle for the championship tightened up significantly as Herrin, in second, now sits just two points adrift of his teammate. Cardenas is well ensconced in third, followed by Eslick in fourth and Hayden in fifth.

AMA Pro SuperBike Miller Race 1 Results 2013:
1. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)
2. Roger Hayden (Suzuki)
3. Josh Hayes (Yamaha)
4. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)
5. Danny Eslick (Suzuki)
6. Larry Pegram (Yamaha)
7. David Anthony (Suzuki)
8. Chris Fillmore (KTM)
9. Geoff May (EBR)
10. Taylor Knapp (KTM)
11. Chris Clark (Suzuki)
12. Aaron Yates (EBR)
13. Robertino Pietri (Kawasaki)
14. Dustin Dominguez (EBR)
15. Trent Gibson (Suzuki)

AMA SuperBike Points 2013:
1. Josh Hayes, 245
2. Josh Herrin, 243
3. Martin Cardenas, 225
4. Danny Eslick, 164
5. Roger Hayden, 159
6. Larry Pegram, 146
7. Chris Fillmore, 136
8. Geoff May, 119
9. David Anthony, 110
10. Aaron Yates, 107