Caselli Wins 2013 Hare & Hound Championship

August 26, 2013

By Byron Wilson

Kurt Caselli in Panaca  Nevada.
Kurt Caselli on his way to a third consecutive Hare & Hound series title in the penultimate round of 2013.

Factory FMF/KTM’s Kurt Caselli wrapped up the 2013 AMA National Hare & Hound series championship with one round still remaining in the season. Caselli took the win in Panaca, Nevada, giving him six total victories of nine rounds so far and his third consecutive title in the series. David Pearson mounted a KTM for this round and finished in second-place followed by Caselli’s teammate, Ivan Ramierz, in third.

Unlike other rounds where riders complete multiple loops, the race in Panaca was a point-to-point event meaning pit crews were constantly chasing riders to ensure they were in range to provide support if needed. Caselli didn’t run into any issue though, grabbing the holeshot and stretching a lead that would grow to over one minute ahead of Pearson by the checkers.

“My bike started up right away and I was able to get a good jump off the start,” said Caselli. “I rode a smart race, and luckily, made no mistakes. The course was very well marked for this event which allowed me to continue to pull out front.

“It feels really great to clench the championship a round early. It is a great way to end the season. I am happy I was able to get another championship for the FMF/KTM Team before I switch over to rally racing.”

Caselli’s switch to rally racing starts immediately and he’ll miss the final Hare & Hound contest to compete in a World Rally round before his debut as a factory rider with the Red Bull KTM Rally Team in 2014.

Kawasaki rider Jacob Argubright finished fourth in Panaca followed by Beta’s Nicholas Burson and Axel Pearson in fifth and sixth, respectively.

Hare & Hound Panaca, Nevada Results 2013:
1. Kurt Caselli (KTM)
2. David Pearson (KTM)
3. Ivan Ramierz (KTM)
4. Jacob Argubright (Kawasaki)
5. Nicholas Burson (Beta)
6. Axel Pearson (Beta)
7. Skyler Howes (KTM)
8. TJ Hannifin (Beta)
9. Justin Morrow (Beta)
10. Reece Honea (Kawasaki)

Hare & Hound Series Points 2013:
1. Kurt Caselli, 230
2. Jacob Argubright, 188
3. Nicholas Burson, 167
4. Ivan Ramirez, 119
5. Irving Powers, 96
6. Tuffy Pearson, 80
7. David Kamo, 73
8. Justin Morrow, 73
9. Levi Hutchings, 73
10. Dan Capparelli, 71

Facebook comments