MotoGP Brno Results 2013

August 25, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

In front of over 140,000 MotoGP fans Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez etched his name in the record books, earning his fourth consecutive win at Brno, his fifth so far this season. No other rookie has amassed as many wins in the series. His teammate, Dani Pedrosa, crossed the finish line three-tenths of a second behind in the runner-up position followed by Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jorge Lorenzo in third.

Lorenzo shot off the start from fifth on the grid and took the front in the opening turns, but he was trailed closely by the Repsol Honda duo. Pole-sitter Cal Crutchlow of Monster Yamaha Tech 3 slipped into fourth-place followed by Go & Fun Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista in fifth.

Lorenzo opened a small gap during the initial laps but couldn’t completely shake Marquez and Pedrosa, and the three soon pulled away from the rest of the field. Bautista made it past Crutchlow into fourth-place and then the two were joined by Lorenzo’s teammate, Valentino Rossi, who had made his way past LCR Honda MotoGP’s Stefan Bradl for sixth. Crutchlow got Bautista back a short time later and began to distance himself from the Honda rider, but then he lost the front of his bike and went sliding into the gravel. He was uninjured and quickly hoisted the machine up and rejoined the race, completing the next 14 laps and taking 17th. Crutchlow’s teammate, Bradley Smith, also went down early, but his handlebar broke during the crash and he was unable to return to competition. Came IodaRacing’s Lukas Pesek, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Claudio Corti and Avintia Blusens’ Hector Barbera all crashed out of the race as well.

Out front, Lorenzo continued to enjoy the lead but had Marquez and Pedrosa closing in quickly. Marquez set a new circuit record lap on his third rotation after the start, and he maintained a similarly quick pace throughout. Pedrosa hung to Marquez in third, and once they reached Lorenzo the Honda riders held steady, waiting to attempt any moves until the closing laps.
Marquez was first to strike, passing Lorenzo briefly in Turn 3 with seven laps remaining. Lorenzo quickly retaliated but before the lap was over Marquez made another move and secured the front. The Mallorcan rode in second for a handful of laps before trying to answer back, which he did briefly with four laps to go, but Marquez made his definitive move a few corners later and Lorenzo simply couldn’t keep pace with the rookie.

“Before we came here I didn’t expected win, because Jorge and Valentino had both tested at Brno recently and Dani is always so fast here and won the race last year,” said Marquez. “It is a completely different track to those at which we have raced before, and these 25 points feel different to Indianapolis! This was a very hard fought win and I enjoyed myself a lot. The battle with Jorge was really good and we are pleased with the victory.”

Behind the lead pack, Bautista and Rossi traded punches of their own, going back and forth a number of times before Rossi finally claimed the position. Bautista crossed the finish line in fifth followed by Bradl in sixth and Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso in seventh. Dovi’s teammate, Nicky Hayden, took eighth ahead of Energy T.I. Pramac Racing’s Andrea Iannone in ninth and top CRT rider, Aleix Esapargaro of Power Electronics Aspar, in 10th. Earning one of his best finishes of late, NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Colin Edwards crossed the line in 11th.

Marquez now has a 26 point advantage over Pedrosa in second while Lorenzo sits 44 points adrift of the top-spot in third.

MotoGP Brno Results 2013:
1. Marc Marquez (Honda)
2. Dani Pedrosa (Honda)
3. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)
4. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)
5. Alvaro Bautista (Honda)
6. Stefan Bradl (Honda)
7. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati)
8. Nicky Hayden (Ducati)
9. Andrea Iannone (Ducati)
10. Aleix Espargaro (ART)
11. Colin Edwards (FTR-Kawasaki)
12. Michele Pirro (Ducati)
13. Danilo Petrucci (Ioda-Suter)
14. Hiroshi Aoyama (FTR)
15. Randy de Puniet (ART)
16. Yonny Hernandez (ART)
17. Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha)
18. Michael Laverty (PBM)
19. Karel Abraham (ART)
20. Bryan Staring (FTR-Honda)
21. Martin Bauer (S&B Suter)

MotoGP Championship Points 2013:
1. Marc Marquez, 213
2. Dani Pedrosa, 187
3. Jorge Lorenzo, 169
4. Valentino Rossi, 143
5. Cal Crutchlow, 127
6. Stefan Bradl, 103
7. Andrea Dovizioso, 96
8. Alvaro Bautista, 92
9. Nicky Hayden, 80
10. Aleix Espargaro, 62

Facebook comments