Superstore Holeshot Rewards Loretta Riders

August 2, 2013
Courtesy of Geiger Media Global
Luciano Santos scored the holeshot in the 250C Limited.
Luciano Santos scored the holeshot in the 250C Limited.

The Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL has been a welcome retreat for Bell Helmet rider Taylor Snow and her family.

Snow, who races in the Girls (9-11) class, and her family recently suffered through a catastrophic house fire. Despite the major setback, the whole crew made the trip to Loretta Lynn’s Ranch so Snow could compete.

“Our family is staying in a hotel here,” Snow said. “We’re all having a blast. My friends and family have all been really supportive of me. It’s been awesome.”

Snow received a $100 gift card for winning the Holeshot Award on Thursday. She said she has been focusing on getting out front early as part of her training.

“I do have one technique I use, but I’m not going to tell anybody about it,” Snow said. “The holeshot is definitely my specialty; there really has not been many holeshots I’ve lost. I’ve been training holeshots for a while and they’ve really become my thing.”

She finished in sixth place on Thursday as part of a sizeable contingent of Bell Helmet riders in the two Girls classes.

“Because my house burned down, I didn’t get to train as hard as I would have liked to,” Snow said. “I still trained hard, but I got tired on the last lap, which isn’t good for me. I like to have consistent rides, but overall I think I did good today.”

Fellow Bell Helmet rider Jazzmyn Canfield won the Girls (9-11) race, and Katie Benson ended seventh while also wearing the specially designed Bell Helmet.

Former professional rider Tim Ferry won the holeshot in the Veteran (35+) class and second place in the moto. It’s the second Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Award this year for Ferry’s family. Ferry’s 8-year-old son Evan, who is also racing this weekend, won a holeshot in Daytona.

“With all the mud we’ve had this week, it has not been a ‘come out of retirement’ kind of race,” Ferry said. “I’m having a good time. Guys were giving me grief about not getting those holeshots. Today I thought, ‘Man, I need to get me one of those $100 awards.’ I’m mainly here for my son this week. It’s his first experience here, but now we’re even with holeshots this year.”

Dylan Coen celebrates his win in the 450C.
Dylan Coen celebrates his win in the 450C.

Family is a common sight around the podium and relief station following races. Hugs are exchanged and high-fives are traded for cups of cold water.

While Dylan Coen was waiting to receive his Holeshot Award from the 450C race, his little sister snuck up behind him and gave him a congratulatory hug around his waist. Coen’s parents soon joined in the family celebration.

Jake Fuerst was the first holeshot winner in the 250C class. The night before his race was called back from the gate and moved to bright, early, and muddy conditions today.

“I’m from Michigan, so we have races that are muddy but not usually like this,” Fuerst said. “I got a pretty good gate pick, which was big today. I just concentrated on the gate and took a good line.”

Racing at the Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by AMSOIL will resume at 7:30 a.m. on Friday.

For more photos of Thursday’s Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Award Winners, click on this link: Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Award Winners. Non-editorial use of these images must be approved via email at

Thursday’s Holeshot Award Winners
250C: Jake Fuerst
Vet (35+): Tim Ferry
Mini Sr. (12-14): Matthew Gross
85 (9-11) Limited: Jalek Swoll
Women (14+): Kaitlyn Morrow
Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C: Ryan Suratt
450C: Dylan Coen
65 (10-11) Limited: Joshua Varize
65 (7-9) Limited: Jordan Riese
450B Limited: Oscar Esparis
Super Mini 1 (12-15): Austin Forkner
Open Pro Sport: Paul Coates
85 (9-11) Stilez Robertson
College B/C (16-24) Cody Williams
51 (7-8) Limited: Jordan Biese
51 (4-6) Limited: Owen Covell
51 (4-5) Special Unlimited: Moon Gerrits
51 (4-6) Shaft Drive Ltd.: Michael Taulk
Senior (45+): Tampas Parker
Masters (50+): Kreg Bigelow
Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C: Kyler West
Girls (12-16): Cassandra Stephens
Girls (9-11) : Taylor Snow
Junior (25+): James Povolny
250C Limited: Luciano Santos
250B Limited: Jordon Smith
Mini Sr. (12-14) Limited: Cameron Cannon

Facebook comments