Unadilla 250 Motocross Results 2013

August 10, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Eli Tomac extended his 250 MX points lead with a 1-1 result at Spring Creek.
Eli Tomac was unstoppable in 250 Moto 1 at Unadilla.

GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac took his fifth consecutive win in 250 Moto 1 at Unadilla, beating MyPlash’s Jeremy Martin by a significant margin at the checkers. Tomac’s teammate, Zach Osborne, finished on the podium in third.

Another GEICO Honda rider, Wil Hahn, continued to dominate off the start, earning the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot. The Honda rider held his lead for the first 10 minutes of the race, but was eventually bested by Martin.

Tomac, meanwhile, was recovering from another lackluster start, bringing up the back end of a four rider lead pack battle after the first third of the race. With 17 minutes remaining before the final two laps, the running order was Martin, Hahn, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen and Tomac. Though Roczen managed to defend against Tomac for a few turns, the current points leader could not be stopped. Getting past Roczen into third, the Honda ace turned on the jets and got past both Hahn and Martin within a lap or so. Once out front Tomac continued to up the pace, developing a gap on the field that grew to over 18 seconds at the finish.

Roczen’s troubles continued as he lost ground to Osborne and then Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett during the final stages. Baggett ended in fourth with Roczen trailing in fifth. Hahn took sixth followed by Martin’s teammate, Kyle Cunningham, in seventh.

There were some new riders on the grid as well, making their pro debuts at Unadilla. Matt Bisceglia rode for GEICO Honda and Shane McElrath rode for Troy Lee Designs. Bisceglia didn’t get far into the moto before crashing out of competition. McElrath was able to remain upright to the end, finishing in 17th.

Tomac made it six in a row, taking a decisive win in Moto 2. Roczen shook off his Moto 1 disappointment to finish second followed by Martin in third.

Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos scored the Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot, but was quickly bested by Roczen as the German rider fought to break Tomac’s win streak and remain in the hunt for this year’s title. The KTM rider stretched out his lead for a number of laps while behind him Tomac’s teammate, Justin Bogle, pushed past Davalos to move into second-place. Martin did the same a few turns later, putting the Kawasaki rider back to fourth and in the sights of Tomac, who was fighting up the ranks after another bad start.

Tomac made short work of Davalos but faced more fight out of Martin. The two battled for the better portion of the first 10 minutes of the moto, but Tomac finally made the pass. A few minutes later Tomac also moved ahead of Bogle, but Roczen had a seemingly comfortable eight-plus second gap on the field and it appeared the current points leader had his work cut out for him.

Tomac upped his pace further though and was on top of Roczen within a few minutes. The two riders waged a tense fight for the front, with Tomac pressing hard at every turn and Roczen maintaining a strong defense. The two completed a few laps in this way before Tomac made a move for the front stick. Once in the lead he maintained his scorching pace, and was soon well ahead of the field, building a gap on Roczen to over nine seconds by the checkers.

Bogle finished in fourth-place followed by Baggett in fifth. Osborne took sixth with Davalos trailing in seventh and Hahn in eighth. Hahn’s Moto 1 holeshot gave him enough points to secure the 250 Motorcycle-Superstore.com Holeshot Championship, and after the motos was presented with his $15,000 prize.

Tomac has the title within reach, leaving Unadilla with a 39 point advantage over Roczen in second. Musquin, who didn’t factor in the top-five in either moto at Unadilla, held on to third while Baggett made up ground in fourth, now sitting 30 points adrift of the French rider.

Unadilla 250 Motocross Results 2013:
1. Eli Tomac (Honda) 1-1
2. Jeremy Martin (Yamaha) 2-3
3. Ken Roczen (KTM) 5-2
4. Zach Osborne (Honda) 3-6
5. Blake Baggett (Kawasaki) 4-5
6. Justin Bogle (Honda) 10-4
7. Wil Hahn (Honda) 6-8
8. Marvin Musquin (KTM) 8-9
9. Cole Seely (Honda) 9-10
10. Martin Davalos (Kawasaki) 13-7
11. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha) 7-14
12. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 12-11
13. Jessy Nelson (Honda) 15-12
14. Alex Martin (Yamaha) 14-15
15. Adam Cianciarulo (Kawasaki) 19-13

250 Motocross Points 2013:
1. Eli Tomac, 455
2. Ken Roczen, 416
3. Marvin Musquin, 359
4. Blake Baggett, 329
5. Zach Osborne, 296
6. Jeremy Martin, 249
7. Jason Anderson, 248
8. Justin Bogle, 238
9. Kyle Cunningham, 204
10. Cole Seely, 192

Facebook comments