2013 AMA Speedway Finale at Fast Fridays

September 27, 2013
Courtesy of the AMA
Monster Energys Billy Hamill leads on his way to the main event victory.
The 2013 AMA Speedway champion will be crowned tonight at Fast Fridays Speedway in what promises to be a furious night of racing.

The 2013 AMA Speedway national champion will be crowned tonight, Sept. 27, at Fast Fridays Speedway in Auburn, Calif.

“The 2013 AMA Speedway title is up for grabs,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “It will be a real battle for points every time these riders take the track this Friday night. Fans can expect the most exciting racing action of the year.”

The national series features permanent riders, with two wildcard spots up for grabs at each round. The riders, selected based on their 2012 final standings, include Billy Hamill, Charlie Venagas, Bryan Yarrow, Gino Manzares, Bart Bast, Billy Janniro, Tommy Hedden and Aaron Fox.

“Our entire staff is focusing on the upcoming finale and is looking forward to crowning the 2013 AMA National Speedway Champion,” said event promoter Dave Joiner. “Whoever wins this title will need all of the skills that a veteran speedway skidder has, a first-class team effort and of course a bit of luck on the track. One thing is sure — it will be thrilling!”

The series’ race format follows the one used in FIM World Championship Speedway Grand Prix Series competition, with 16 riders, 20 heats, two semifinals and a grand finale at each round, with the points from every race counting toward the championship.

AMA Speedway competition has a long and storied history dating back to the mid-1920s. One of the sport’s early stars was America’s first world champion: AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Jack Milne, who won the 1937 Individual Speedway Championship in London. Today, speedway is known for its fast action and incredibly tight racing. A meet features numerous heats of four riders each, power-sliding single-speed bikes with no brakes counter-clockwise around a dirt oval.

Facebook comments