Superbike Safety Commission Update 2013

September 6, 2013
Courtesy of Dorna
Jonathan Rea spent time testing a new electronics package at Jerez.
Sylvain Guintoli aboard his new RSV4 during testing at Jerez.
Jonathan Rea (above) and Sylvain Guintoli (below) will be joined by Marco Melandri, Carlos Checa and Roberto Rolfo as riders’ representatives on the SBK Safety Commission.

The FIM, together with the FIM Superbike World Championship Race Direction, called a meeting with all World Superbike Riders at Silverstone (United Kingdom), during the ninth Round of the season.

The aim of the meeting was to formalise the intention to create an additional “Superbike Safety Commission” composed by Riders. Those attending were asked to vote for their own representatives, four WSBK Riders plus one WSS Rider. Henceforth, these Riders will represent all the Riders of all series – including the Superstock classes – during meetings, talks and consultations.

At each Round, the Safety Commission will meet to consider proposals for any changes that could be made at the circuit to improve safety, as well as to discuss different aspects and procedures covered by the sporting regulations of the Championship.

The elected Riders’ representatives are: Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team), Marco Melandri (BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK), Jonathan Rea (Pata Honda World Superbike), Carlos Checa (Team Ducati Alstare) and Roberto Rolfo (ParkinGo MV Agusta Corse) for WSS.

These Riders will join the existing Superbike Safety Commission composed by the Race Direction members: Igor Eskinja – FIM Safety Officer, Gregorio Lavilla – WSBK Sporting Director, Giulio Bardi – Team and Riders representative, Gianfranco Carloia – WSBK Race Director, and Daniel Carrera, WSBK Championship Director. The first meeting of the Superbike Safety Commission was held last weekend during the German round at the Nürburgring in Germany.