World Superbike Jerez Superpole 2013

October 19, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Aprilia Racing’s Eugene Laverty outpaced current World Superbike points leader Tom Sykes of Kawasaki Racing by 0.048 seconds for the Tissot Superpole at Jerez. Althea Racing’s Davide Giugliano rounds out the front row.

Laverty now has two career pole positions in Superbike, both of which have come during the current season. The Irishman still has a shot at this year’s title as he trails Sykes by 37 points and will fight to turn his advantage on the grid to a win in Spain.

BMW Motorrad GoldBet’s Marco Melandri heads up the second row, equaling his best qualifying result of the current season while managing pain from an injured right ankle. Laverty’s teammate, Sylvain Guintoli, trails Melandri in fifth while Red Devils Roma’s Toni Elias sits sixth. FIXI Crescent Suzuki’s Leon Camier makes his return to competition at Jerez and despite being less than 100% managed to place seventh on the grid.

Off the grid, Team Ducati Alstare’s Carlos Checa announced his retirement from racing. The 41-year old rider will remain an “Ambassador” for Ducati, according to the team press release, and Nolan Helmets presented a commemorative helmet for Checa to celebrate his 20 years in racing.

World Superbike Jerez Superpole Results 2013:
1. Eugene Laverty (Aprilia) 1’40.620
2. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 1’40.668
3. Davide Giugliano (Aprilia) 1’40.839
4. Marco Melandri (BMW) 1’40.930
5. Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia) 1’40.958
6. Toni Elias (Aprilia) 1’41.347
7. Leon Camier (Suzuki) 1’41.837
8. Xavi Fores (Ducati) 1’42.215
9. Mark Aitchison (Kawasaki) 1’42.500
10. Chaz Davies (BMW) 1’42.015
11. Broc Parkes (Yamaha) 1’42.056
12. Lorenzo Lanzi (Ducati) 1’42.300
13. Ayrton Badovini (Ducati) 1’42.438
14. Federico Sandi (Kawasaki) 1’42.916
15. Michel Fabrizio (Honda) 1’43.081
16. Sylvain Barrier (BMW) 1’42.933
17. Leon Haslam (Honda) 1’42.973
18. Jules Cluzel (Suzuki) 1’42.976
19. Max Neukirchner (Ducati) 1’43.289
20. Vittorio Iannuzzo (BMW) 1’44.232

Facebook comments