2014 MotoGP Provisional Entry List

November 21, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

MotoGP race underway at Catalunya 2013.
The FIM released a provisional entry list for the 2014 MotoGP World Championship.

The FIM has announced 23 of 24 riders for the 2014 MotoGP World Championship. Eleven riders on the grid are designated factory status and subject to the new 20-liter fuel and five engine-per-season restrictions; the remaining participants are non-factory riders and will be allowed 24-liters of fuel and a maximum of 12 engines in the season.

Most of the big personnel changes have been in place for some time, such as Cal Crutchlow’s move to Ducati and Nicky Hayden’s new spot on the Power Electronics Aspar Team. Rookie MotoGP pilots Scott Redding and Pol Espargaro also had their positions slated prior to the announcement, but they will now be joined by another GP newcomer, Mike Di Meglio, who is set to ride with Avintia Blusens on the FTR-Kawasaki. Di Meglio comes up the ranks from Moto2, but missed much of the 2013 season following a crash at Brno. The French rider has a 125cc title to his name from 2008.

Four riders will campaign Honda’s new RCV1000R production racer: Hayden and his Aspar teammate, Hiroshi Aoyama, as well as Karel Abraham of Cardion AB Motoracing and Redding with Go & Fun Honda Gresini. At least two riders will pilot bikes powered by Yamaha’s 2013 M1 engine, the NGM Mobile Forward Racing duo of Colin Edwards and Aleix Espargaro.

It remains to be seen which bike the IodaRacing Project will run, but they now list Niccolo Canepa and Danilo Petrucci as pilots for the 2014 season. IodaRacing followed the announcement with a post on its Facebook page stating that no official agreement has been reached with Canepa, however.

Paul Bird Motorsport is listed with rider Michal Laverty aboard a PBM/ART machine and another rider “to be confirmed.”

2014 MotoGP Riders and Teams:

Yamaha Factory Racing – Factory Yamaha
Jorge Lorenzo
Valentino Rossi

Repsol Honda – Factory Honda
Marc Marquez
Dani Pedrosa

Ducati Team – Factory Ducati
Andrea Dovizioso
Cal Crutchlow

LCR Honda MotoGP – Factory Honda
Stefan Bradl

Go & Fun Honda Gresini
Alvaro Bautista – Factory Honda
Scott Redding – Non-factory Honda

Monster Yamaha Tech 3 – Factory Yamaha
Bradley Smith
Pol Espargaro

Pramac Racing – Factory Ducati
Andrea Iannone
Yonny Hernandez

NGM Mobile Forward Racing – Non-factory FTR Yamaha
Colin Edwards
Aleix Espargaro

Power Electronics Aspar – Non-factory Honda
Nicky Hayden
Hiroshi Aoyama

Avintia Blusens – Non-factory FTR-Kawasaki
Hector Barbera
Mike Di Meglio

IodaRacing Project – TBA
Niccolo Canepa
Danilo Petrucci

Paul Bird Motorsport – PBM/ART
Michael Laverty