EnduroCross Las Vegas II Results 2013

November 25, 2013
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

Motorcycle-Superstore.com-backed rider Cody Webb took his third EnduroCross win of the season during the season finale in Las Vegas. Husqvarna’s Cory Graffunder finished second followed by KTM’s Kyle Redmond in third. The 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross title, however, goes to FMF/KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak, who now has five EnduroCross championships to his credit.

The title was up for grabs between Blazusiak and his teammate, Mike Brown, entering the final round. After a tough, physical race it was Blazusiak who prevailed.

Cody Webb took his third race win of the season in the finale in Las Vegas.
Taddy Blazusiak is the 2013 EnduroCross champion.
(Above) Cody Webb took his third race win of the season in the finale in Las Vegas. (Below) Taddy Blazusiak is the 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross champion.

“That was probably the worst race in my life but it was all about me and Brownie,” Blazusiak said. “We got together in the first turn and then again in the second turn and it went from race mode to crazy mode. We must have hit fifteen times but we got it done to win the fifth title.”

Brown barely edged Blazusiak for the holeshot and the two stayed in close quarters through the opening laps until they made contact and went down, causing a rider pile-up that forced both riders to wait until others had gathered up their machines. They fought hard to make up ground after that until mid-race when Brown suffered another crash in the water section, causing him to fall well behind. Blazusiak ended the night in fifth place while Brown salvaged ninth before the checkers.

Webb, meanwhile, pushed his way up from mid-pack early on and by Lap 5 the Beta rider had assumed the lead. From there Webb was untouchable to the finish.

“I am ecstatic right now. What a great race,” said Webb. “The track tonight was insane but I loved it. This is what EnduroCross is all about!”

Honda’s Colton Haaker finished fourth while KTM’s Geoff Aaron ended the night in sixth. Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert finished seventh followed by KTM’s Gary Sutherlin in eighth.

EnduroCross Las Vegas Results 2013:
1. Cody Webb (Beta)
2. Cory Graffunder (Husqvarna)
3. Kyle Redmond (KTM)
4. Colton Haaker (Honda)
5. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)
6. Geoff Aaron (KTM)
7. Taylor Robert (Kawasaki)
8. Gary Sutherlin (KTM)
9. Mike Brown (KTM)
10. Destry Abbott (Kawasaki)
11. David Knight (Sherco)
12. Eric Rhoten (KTM)
13. Jack Field (Christini)


Facebook comments