Roof of Africa Results 2013

November 18, 2013
Courtesy of Monster Energy
Cold and wet conditions greeted competitors on the final day of the 2013 Roof of Africa, with more that 10 riders had failing to make it to the finish on Friday and spending the night in the Mountains, it was going to prove to be another extremely challenging day for all the riders.

Rain continued to fall on the final day making for more tough racing.
Roof of Africa 2013.
Rain continued to fall on the final day making for more tough racing.

Chris Birch, Graham Jarvis, Blake Gudzeit and Altus De Wet were all penalized 3 min over night for failing to report to DSP 2 on Friday, but Birch and Jarvis still held an substantial lead over the rest of the field and lead out this mornings start just seconds apart. It was evident right from the beginning that Jarvis was on a mission as he began to reel in Birch coming down Bushman’s Pass. Conditions were so bad that the Clerk of the Course decided to remove the first major pass of the day. But next up was Mokopu Pass, in the race for the first time, and Birch and Jarvis arrived together. Reports filtered back to race headquarters that by the summit of Mokopu, Graham Jarvis had put 25min into Birch. Ben Hemingway was feeling the strains of Friday’s efforts and was passed by Scott Bouverie and Blake Gudzeit, who were locked in a battle to be the first South African across the line.

Graham Jarvis is a master of wet and slippery conditions and this became more and more evident through the morning. Approaching the final ascent of Bushman’s Pass, Jarvis was over 50 min ahead of Birch and romped home to and emphatic on his Husqvarna.
Gudzeit and Bouverie were at it, wheel to wheel, the whole day and provided a dramatic finish in front of the enthusiastic crowd, scattered across the pass.

Only 24 riders were able to finish the Gold class today and it looks like, once again, there will be riders stuck in the dark and forced to spend the night in the Mountains this evening.

Results for Day3:
1. Graham Jarvis – 6h35m37
2. Blake Gudzeit – 7h33m06
3. Scott Bouverie – 7h33m29
4. Chris Birch – 7h34m41
5. Ben Hemingway – 8h00m01
6. Kenny Gilbert – 8h24m55
7. Altus De Wet – 8h41m50
8. Dan Hemingway – 8h57m18
9. James Hodson – 8h58m03
10. Bronson Louw – 9h11m28

Overall Results:
1 Graham Jarvis
2. Chris Birch
3. Scott Bouverie


Facebook comments