2014 World Superbike Provisional Entry List

January 30, 2014
Byron Wilson
Byron Wilson
Associate Editor|Articles|Articles RSS

Byron's sure to be hunched over a laptop after the checkers are flown, caught in his own little version of heaven. Whether on dirt, street or a combination of both, MotoUSA's newest addition knows the only thing better than actually riding is telling the story of how things went down.

The provisional entry list for the 2014 World Superbike Championship has been released and it includes 27 riders aboard nine different marques. Of the 27 riders, 12 are classified in the new EVO class. Kawasaki Racing is backing David Salom on an EVO Ninja ZX-10R in addition to its Superbike team of Tom Sykes and Loris Baz. Iron Brain Kawasaki SBK Team has two EVO Kawasaki’s, with riders Sheridan Morais and Michel Fabrizio, as does Team Pedercini with Luca Scassa and Alessandro Andreozzi. Mahi Racing Team India’s Fabien Foret and MRS Kawasaki’s Jeremy Guarnoni will ride EVO-spec ZX-10Rs as well.

Team Alstare Bimota will field two riders, Christian Iddon and Ayrton Badovini, though the BB3 remains “subject to homologation.” Niccolo Canepa will ride the EVO Panigale 1199R for Althea Racing. A full factory BMW team may no longer exit, but three S1000RRs will battle in the 2014 WSBK championship. BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team features Sylvain Barrier on an EVO-spec machine, while Team Toth has Peter Sebestyen contesting the series on an EVO as well. Imre Toth will ride his S1000RR under Superbike specifications.

Team Hero EBR’s Aaron Yates and Geoff May debut in the WorldSBK series aboard Superbike-spec 1190RXs while MV Agusta RC Yakhnich Motorsport’s Claudio Corti is the lone F4 RR pilot on the grid.

While the EVO-spec class has helped to glut the Superbike grid, the World Supersport entries are considerably down over previous years. There are 21 riders listed for the 2014 WSS series with two TBA slots still open.

Included below is the full 2014 World Superbike provisional entry list. The opening round is scheduled for Phillip Island February 21-23.

Aprilia Racing Team – SBK Class; Aprilia RSV4
Marco Melandri
Sylvain Guintoli

Kawasaki Racing Team – SBK Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
Tom Sykes
Loris Baz

Voltcom Crescent Suzuki – SBK Class; Suzuki GSX-R1000
Alex Lowes
Eugene Laverty

Pata Honda World Superbike – SBK Class; Honda CBR1000RR
Jonathan Rea
Leon Haslam

Red Devils Roma – SBK Class; Aprilia RSVR
Toni Elias

Ducati Superbike Team – SBK Class; Ducati Panigale 1199R
Chaz Davies
Davide Giugliano

Team Hero EBR – SBK Class; EBR 1190RX
Geoff May
Aaron Yates

BMW Team Toth – SBK Class; BMW S1000RR
Imre Toth

MV Agusta RC Yakhnich Motorsport – SBK Class; MV Agusta F4 RR
Claudio Corti

Kawasaki Racing Team – EVO Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
David Salom

BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team – EVO Class; BMW S1000RR
Sylvain Barrier

Team Alstare Bimota – EVO Class; Bimota BB3
Christian Iddon
Ayrton Badovini

Althea Racing – EVO Class; Ducati Panigale 1199R
Niccolo Canepa

Team Pedercini – EVO Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
Alessandro Andreozzi
Luca Scassa

IRON BRAIN Kawasaki SBK Team – EVO Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
Sheridan Morais
Michel Fabrizio

BMW Team Toth – EVO Class; BMW S1000RR
Peter Sebestyen

MAHI Racing Team India – EVO Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
Fabien Foret

MRS Kawasaki – EVO Class; Kawasaki ZX-10R
Jeremy Guarnoni


Facebook comments